I had a pretty good day today at work. We had a little staff meeting, but other than that, it was the same old thing. I had a nice girls' lunch out today. Three girls I work with, myself, our labor attorney, and a girl that does admin for the hospital went for Japanese. It was really good. I'm taking my awesome husband out for steak dinner tomorrow night - leaving the little one at daycare. It's something we rarely get to do, so I'm excited.
When I picked up my son from daycare today, I had to sign an 'incident report'. I read it and it said that my son, who is 9 months old, wanted to play with a toy that another baby had. He allegedly was upset and scratched this baby in the face leaving marks. They stated that they told him 'not to scratch' and put him in time out. I looked at them and asked, "Are you joking?" They just looked at me as though they were thinking 'why'. I said, "He's nine months old! You put 9 month old babies in time out??" She said, "Well, yeah, we just put him in his crib for about 1 minute, but he didn't like that too much". I said that I would imagine not being that he is too young to even understand what being in trouble means. My degree is in psychology, and I have studied some child development, and my understanding of timeout is so that the child is able to calm down so that you may explain to the child what he/she did wrong. That doesn't work with an infant. They don't know what you are saying. Also, I don't believe that you are supposed to use a bed, or a crib, as punishment. If he goes there when he is in trouble, why would he go there to sleep?
Anyway.... I think I made my point to them. If it happens again, I will speak with the manager about it. Now, I am going to enjoy the rest of my evening with my sweetheart.
-Lu
Friday, April 3, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment