Monday, December 28, 2009

Dec 28




Had a great Christmas-was home, and got lots of great presents! Dinner was good-Turkey and all the trimmings. On Saturday, we cleaned most of the morning and then after Barrett's nap went shopping.


Yesterday, we drove to Austin for the day to go to a children's museum and walked around the capital city-quite clean actually.
Had to go pick up Barrett from Daycare this morning-a slight fever-but seems to be doing much better now-he is napping and I am playing house husband. Well until next time.....


Wednesday, December 23, 2009

I'm Back!!!!!

It is soooooo great to be home finally. We flew from Kuwait to Germany, to Maine to Ft Hood. It is awesome to be home!!!!! We got home around 1230 on Thursday. Had to go back in the next day to start reintegration training and medical checkups-all good to go.
Linds was a real trooper and big supporter through this deployment and couldn't have done it without her!!!!
The Army moved us from our housing because of plumbing problems and now our new house has plumbing problems and will have to move again!-has to be a record-3 moves in a month! We are going to move after our cruise (Can't wait for some sun and relaxation!)
Can't wait-only have 3 more years to retirement!
I got the new Inspector General job-start in Apr-can't wait
There is so much more to say-got to jot it down and write next time.
Just want to say Merry Christmas to everyone and thank everyone for their love and support.

Monday, November 30, 2009

Obama's decision to send thousands of troops back overseas...

Okay, let's be honest. First of all, it wasn't Mr. Obama's decision. He is simply the President - he has PLENTY of advisors to do the real thinking for him. Never having spent one day in the military, and being a quite intelligent man, he would never make a decision of that magnitude that affects so many people on his own (or at all).

Besides that fact .... what if we DIDN'T send those people back overseas. I work for the Army, my husband is in the Army. We would both still have our jobs, fortunately, because of the positions that we are in. HOWEVER, there are individuals who hired into civil service (thousands of them) JUST to support the 'war' - GWOT positions. All those people who lose their jobs, as would thousands of military troops who are no longer needed if we are not in a war time situation. I'm not saying whether this is right or wrong. I am all about a strong economy, not one where we have unemployment rates in the double digits. If we did end the war tomorrow, unemployment would skyrocket to the point that we wouldn't be able to pay anyone. It becomes more economical to just continue a worthless war. Mind you some military troops do have operations that they are running, but a lot of troops spend hours sitting around - or spending hours getting in trouble or thinking too much about home, becoming depressed, etc. I got it, you people who are bashing Mr. Obama for his ultimate decision - it's not our fight. However, would it be better to have unemployment rates skyrocket and redo vietnam where we have those individuals out on the street and becoming homeless? Let me tell you something, I worked for a non-profit org that served the homeless, and I saw a lot of them - there are a TON that are veterans and are so damaged mentally and physically that they cannot work. Yes, that is what civil service was created for... however, now I hire for them. I can also tell you that just on this one installation, I have 200 people apply for EVERY job. There simply are not jobs for any more veterans. Once again, I'm not taking a side - I see both ways.... but maybe you should think about the reverse before you critisize. Or... maybe you should at least learn something about what you are talking about.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving and Almost Home!

First, let me wish everyone Happy Thanksgiving-hope you have a good day and good meal. The DFAC here is putting on a good meal.
Second, I have about 10 more nights here and then time to head home!!!! Cant wait. Time is flying by. It will be so great to be home!!!!!!!!!!
We will have about 15 days of reintegration training and then I am taking 30 days of leave-to rest, spend time with family and have a good time-looking forward to the cruise.
I am finishing up my class-just in time-it ends on Tuesday. I should get an A. Then I am going to take a break and start classes again in Feb.
Kid Rock is supposed to be coming here to play Dec 2-we will see-will be pretty cool
We have packed up all our supplies and our replacements are here-we are training them up-so it is time to go home. See you all soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thursday, November 19, 2009

nov 19

Well, I wrote this long post about how great my day was, but then it disappeared! Ha! Oh well, I am too tired to retype it. Now I remember why I dont post on here much. Oh well... g'night.

-Lu

19 Nov 09











Saturday, November 14, 2009

October








Wow, that month really did fly by... and the first part of this one has, too - which I'm quite happy about. We went to the pumpkin patch last month - bar loved it and picked out a guord. He thought it was a duck and quacked at it for days. Ha. We also went trick or treating (see imagine above). Bar was a lion, my mom was a witch, and henri was superman. Unfortunately, he only lasted 5 minutes when he tried to bite some kid, so he went back inside. Bar had SUCH a great time. He didn't understand it, but he enjoyed that strangers were giving him things. He is just the sweetest, cutest little boy! I'm very pleased with how he's turned out. He shows sympathy already, he knows right from wrong, he does what he is supposed to. I can ask him where his eyes, nose, hands, feet, etc are, and he will show me. He is just SO good. I couldn't ask for a better son.
My dad is coming down for Thanksgiving - the mom is already here. That will be interesting. It will be great for Bar - it will be a spoiling competition, I'm sure.
I can't wait to see my awesome husband again. he's so good to me. I got flowers again the other day. I love how the women at work get jealous. They can just be mad, he's all mine! :)
Okay, that's about all, I'm exhausted. G'night!
-Lu



Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Time flies







Holy Cow! Its Novemeber 11th-



Happy Veterans Day



Apologize for not writing in so long-have been very busy!






Lets see



Doing well in college class-have a 98!






Got a chance to go outside the FOB to the eternal flame-image attached-it was awesome! We went out there to film a commercial spot for the Army/Navy Game on Dec 12 with the Iraqi Police-I might get my 15 seconds of fame!-have to watch the game to see






Got a coin from the Division Command Sergeant Major yesterday-was pretty neat-made me feel good.






Possibility that we might be coming home a little bit earlier-will keep you posted. Anxious to come home-got anywhere between 20-30 days to go!


Was terrible what happened at Ft Hood. Thoughts and prayers are with everyone there. So glad Linds and Barrett are safe.

I'm sure there is more-but getting tired. See you all soon!!!!






Friday, October 23, 2009

October 23

Wow! Has it been 2 weeks since I wrote last-time is flying by! Got about 50ish days to go!

Lets see to catch up:
On my final week of Marketing class. Have an 89, shooting to raise it to an A-we will see.Then start my next class on Tuesday-this will be the last class I take while here. After that, I should have 5 more to go!

Took my Physical Training test this week and did much better than I thought-282 out of 300. Not bad for an old man!

I am applying for an Inspector General Job. Would still be at Ft Hood, but a much better assignment. Keep your fingers crossed!

Love Saturday and Sunday nights because we get to leave a little early (around 7) to watch football-yeah!

Getting very tired of Chicken and rice-cant wait to have some good home cooking.

I'm sure there is more-but drawing a blank now. Will write more later.....

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Happy Bday to me...

Today was my 27th bday. I feel officially old now. It was a good day - opened presents from my sweetie that he so thoughtfully sent me from halfway around the world. I got a happy bday teddy bear, that our son stole from me... and a spa kit, which i LOVE. My baby knows how I like to be pampered and a nice bath is the best way to relax after a day (at least the besat way that doesn't involve my hubby). Then, my mom wanted to take me to lunch. We tried good old OG, but the toddler wanted to throw a fit, so I thought we should go to mcd's instead. It was a good choice - bar played on the toddler toys, and everyone was happy. He had a great time, and that is most important to me. He really loves playing with other kids. We were there for a good hour and a half. Then, we went to meet my friend at the pumpkin patch. We went on a hayride and got pumpkins. I got a green one, bar - 2 gourds that look like geese, and mom a bright orange one. It was sooo much fun. we were there for about an hr and a half as well. Then, we came home - I left mom and the kid here and ran to the mall to exchange something. Tomorrow starts another hectic week. Eight wkends from now, my babe will be on his way home!!! YAH!!!

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Countdown cont...

My lover forgot one important countdown below ... our cruise 84 days from today. Yah!

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Countdown....

So countdown has officially begun on getting out of here! Dates of Note:
Halloween 19 days
Veterans day 30
Thanksgiving 45
Christmas 74

We will be out of here before Christmas-so around the 60ish mark! Awesome!
Lets see what else is going on. Just finished week 3 of class-heading to week 4 in Marketing-have an 85.

Got a goody box today from my awesome wife-Halloween candy-Thank you! Love you baby!
Chapel now has two big screens to watch football on! Last night went over there to watch some college football, drink near beer and have cigars-was nice to relax. Gonna try to go over tonight and watch a little pro football-just comes on too late here. Oh well.
We are having an organizational day on Friday 16 Oct-BBQ, football, relax day.
Been pretty busy here which has made time go by fast-lots of promotion boards and soldier of the month boards to run and coordinate.
Slowly starting to pack things up which is great!
We are booked for our Cruise-Jan 9-cant wait!
Guess that is all I can think of for now. Until next time......

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Today...

What a great day. After the funk I've been in, it was nice to have a great day. 1) I went to lunch with my friend. We have a lot in common, and it is nice to speak to an intelligent adult sometimes. It was a blast, and she is super funny. 2) I had asked a couple of colleagues at other organizations if they could give us some printing paper. Apparently our agency is poor or mismanaging their money (I know, hard to believe in the federal gov't....). Anyway, my friend brought me one measley ream of paper at lunch. It was a sweet thought and rather comical. I came back from my great lunch to see a whole BOX of paper sitting on my chair. I guess it's nice to have a great working relationship with people. 3) At that moment. I looked on my desk and noticed one of the most BEAUTIFUL bouquets of flowers that I have ever seen. So very simple, which made it perfect. It was a pumpkin jar with the lid titled to the side, and it had 9 roses - orange and creme - in it. I looked at the card, and my husband said he just wanted to brighten my day. It was perfect timing! 4) Came home and my mom, bar, and I went out for a bit. We went to Mcd's and had some dinner. Bar discovered ketchup. Then, we headed to a local play center where he had a great time. We stayed there quite a while until it was evidenced that we were all tired, so we came home. 5) A couple of neighbors came by to chat - I even made myself be pleasant to them and hold a conversation. One told me that I looked great and really thin. I really hadn't noticed, but I guess I have lost some weight - told her it's a new diet called stress. :) 6) I got a box from my sis tonight - bunch of clothes for bar. It's nice to have a nephew 4 months older than my son, especially one with rich relatives. :) She also sent 2 purses, a dress, and two shirts to me. She said she has more to send. Oh, and there was also face and body wash. I love getting presents! 7) Then, after playing dress up with the dog, the baby went to bed easy. 8) I capped off the night with a conversation with my wonderful husband. Now, I am going to sleep.

-Lu

Monday, October 5, 2009

Two and a Half Men...

I LOVE this show. The hub and I started watching it two years ago when we moved to AZ. Immediately Alan reminded me of hubby - so super sweet and caring, a great man screwed over by a frigid bitch of an ex wife - raking him over the coals for child support/alimony. Then Alan meets a 23 year old and marries her. Hahaha. Yep, pretty accurate. However, big difference b/w myself and that 23 yr old's mentality - I'm nowhere near a ditzy idiot. Still, I love it. I love to watch it, but I get so angry when Alan's exwife talks down to him.... hmmm, sounds familiar. :) Makes me feel like maybe we ARE normal. Also, I feel like I have 2 1/2 men. The hub, the dog, and the half man baby. ;)

I miss my hubby and can't wait for him to come home. Remembered today that I can't stay mad at him. He made me angry, but that lasted a whole 10 minutes, and I was over it. Hehe. It's almost a curse.... but I love it. I'm like that with all of my men - just can't get enough of them!

-Lu

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Sunday Oct 4

Its Sunday night here around 8 pm. Was a pretty good day.Started off today-I won the football pool-about 80 bucks. Was a quiet day-able to catch up on work. Finished week 2 of my marketing class-heading into week 3 already.
Have a little over 70 days to go! Can't wait.
Got to talk to kids today-was great. Joey and mackenzie are both "dating" now-heart attack!
going to watch the raiders and texans play
Taught a class to 150 soldiers on friday night-went really well.
Got a couple care packages this week from my beautiful wife and the vfw-was really nice.
the weather has gotten a lot more comfortable now which is really nice.
Getting tired of eating chicken and rice! Cant wait for variety when I leave here!
Well, thats all I can think of for now. Talk to you next time....

Friday, September 25, 2009

Sorry

it's been a while since I've written. Honestly, I've just been super busy and not had a chance to think about it. Work is CRAZY. But before I get into all that, i will state the good...

Barrett's doing really well. He is so sweet and smart. He is saying two syllable words - water, balloon, Henri, etc. He will mock any word I tell him, although it doesn't sound the same. He will repeat love you, thank you, Bubba (my nickname for him), drink, block, etc. I am getting another raise at work, which is great. Michael is due home in like 10 weeks. YAH!! We are planning on going on a cruise. Bar and I went to the park tonight after work/school. I took his little blanket, we grabbed Sonic, and we had dinner there - my dinner date. :)

Okay, now for what else I want to say - I'm such a misanthropist (someone who has a general dislike for people). I don't know what my problem is, but it is definitely a problem. I just, in general, think that human beings are annoying, rude, ignorant, and very stupid - oh, add excessively fat and gross in there, too. It never ceases to amaze me every day. We will start with the area I live. I, unfortunately, live on a military installation - ON it. Most of the wives don't work, so they like to pretend that we are on an episode of 'desperate housewives'. It is sooooooo annoying. My dad was here, and there was a rumor that he was my boyfriend. Even worse, my mom came to stay with me and all of a sudden I'm lesbian. Oh, and that's another one, my mom. I love her because she's my mother, and she was a great mother when I was young, but I don't even like her any more. Weird how you can love someone but not like them. I can't stand to be around her. She wanted to come live with me a few months after michael left - I told her okay. She tries to pretend that she is here to 'help' me, but I'm still trying to figure out how it is help. I asked her to take my son to daycare in the morning a couple days a week to cut down my hour drive to work when it is only 5 minutes. She said 'im not a morning person'. Umm... right. Also, she is passive agressive, and she hates men. She always has something negative to say about my father and then transposes that onto MY husband, oh because of course ALL men are evil. We get in an argument if we spend more than 15 minutes together. Fortunately for me, that is only a couple of nights a week. I really don't have the time or energy for stupid confrontation, so I just ignore her usually. My siblings annoy me, even my friends annoy me. The woman across the street has starting being attached to my hip but it is freaking annoying. I don't WANT to go on a walk every evening with another woman and here the drama of the neighborhood. That is NOT fun to me, OMG!!! Even my friend at work, who is really sweet and I like, she is annoying - she is very fake. Fake boobs, fake eye lashes, fake hair, too much makeup - she tried to go get a tummy tuck and have insurance pay for it. The doctor told her HELL NO. She is about a size 4 if you can imagine. Oh, and she's never worked out a day in her life. Are you kidding? I make fun of her when she brings a donut in for breakfast. Maybe she could stop eating those and go to the gym instead of getting surgery and taking diet pills. I don't like the Army. They do really dumb things. I pretty much find myself not liking anything. There are few people here that I enjoy being around. One is my friend who is a lot like me - works for the gov't, has her degree, was in the army too, had her first child when she was 30, and can hold an intelligent conversation. Oh, and her life revolves around her baby, like mine - and she is a good mother, something I rarely see. Speaking of which, at the park tonight I was reminded of how unprotective a lot of mothers are. I can't believe when I see them just letting their 18 mth old baby climb on 5 foot high jungle gyms by theirselves and then tell me how they fall off sometimes. Are you kidding me??? All people should be sterile until deemed fit parents.

Okay, I'm done. Gotta say I love my wonderful husband and my ADORABLE son. I'm so happy for my men, otherwise EVERYONE would annoy me. :)

-Lu

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Weekly writing time

Another Sunday night here in Kirkuk-time is flying by!
Just got off the phone with the kids-was nice to talk to them. They are doing well in school-very proud! Keep it up!
Another quiet day here today. Rained a little bit. Cooling it off a lot-is a lot comfortable now. Gearing up for the redeployment slowly but surely!
Submitted my final today for my class. Have a day break and then start Marketing on Tuesday.
Going to watch some football.
Miss and love you all........

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Another week is gone!

Its sunday night here in kirkuk around 7. Got off a little early today! :) Gonna see if I can watch some football!
We have a collge football pool going on here for fun-and this week I was the ultimate loser-hey if your gonna lose-go all out!
Today was fall cleaning at the office-cleaning, shredding, filing, etc. Looks much better-long over due-we were just too busy before to get it done.
Had a marathon meeting yesterday-5 hours! But it was a good one-Redeployment actions-about 12 weekends left to go!
My college class is going well-still have a 93-one more week to go and then start the next one.
Got a little over a month until my board convenes to see if I get promoted-got a good evaluation so now it is in their hands-we will see.
Gonna try to call the kids today
Cooling down much here-can tell a big difference.
Well, think that is all for now.....

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Sunday September 6-Happy Labor Day weekend

I am writing during my lunch hour. Went and got my haircut today and got some things from the PX. We are around 98 days to getting out of here! Can't wait.
Hopefully we will be barbequing today or tomorrow in Honor of Labor day-we will see-hope everyone has a good weekend.
Week 3 of accouting classs is down-two more to go-got a 93 so far. Start my next class immediately after this one. Then I should be able to complete one more before redeploying.
My LT gets promoted today
Looking forward to find out if I make MSG or not-should know around Nov/Dec
Looking forward to going on a much needed vacation-Cruise! and relaxing for a little bit
We are in high gear prepping for redeployments-starting packets and everything. Should keep us busy and make time go by that much faster.
Cooling down a lot here-which is very nice and comfortable.
Football season has started-yeah!!!!!! Get to watch some games here and there.
Guess that is it for now. Until next time.........

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Last Days of August

Wow hard to believe it is almost September! Time is flying by-with the exception of today-it was actually quite long, boring and quiet.Guess I shouldn't be complaining too much considering I am in a war zone! Today we grilled out some steaks was pretty good.
Last couple of nights been having a cigar and near beer with the Command Sergeant Major-nice to relax for a little.
Finished week 2 of my Accounting class-have a 92 so far.
We have a little over 3 months to go here! All signs are pointing that we should be home for Christmas-we will see! Hopefully!
Last night they had a boxing smoker on the FOB that I decided to go to-again to try and relax a little. Was pretty fun. Had 12 matches-3 1 minute rounds.Each bout was soldiers from different units. Everyone had fun and no one got seriously hurt.
Everyone is itching to go home. This is the time complacency sets in so we are going through complacency training to make sure the rest of the tour is successful.
Gonna try and call the kids tonight
Other than that, that is all for now.
miss and love you all.............

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Sunday august 23

Well another week has rolled by. Its sunday already. Got off work a little early-about 730 :)
Today I got a new mattress-yeah! the other one was starting to kill my back. Also got a wardrobe closet-took 4 hours to put together-grrr! I have a nightstand-didn't tackle putting that one together yet!
Got woke up last night around 230 or so for another red cross message and then it is so hard to get back to sleep.
End of tour awards are done! We knocked out 520.
Just finished my first week of Accounting class-4 more weeks to go-my LT is an accounting major-so I will use him! (By the way he is getting promoted to 1LT on 6 Sep)
Been reading a lot of books.
Well gonna go webcam with my wife and then try to call the kids. Miss and love you all....

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Training Potty...




My mother tells me I was potty trained at 15 months. She said she set up the little potty for my older brother, I walked in on my own, used it, and never peed my diaper again. I didn't realize how young that was until now when my son is 14 months old. Well, I set up a baby toilet for Bar in anticipation of toilet training. Yes, I know that SOME mothers wait until a child is, oh i dont know, FIVE to do it - or going on a cruise, whichever comes first. Well, I'm not that kind of lazy mother - I'm a proactive one. Anyway, I set him on the toilet this morning while I was getting ready for work. Within 30 seconds I heard a little grunting and then looked under him. He had peed and poopied in the toilet! I couldn't believe it. Mom, Bar, and I had a little celebration (it is the kind of toilet that plays a royal tune when you go). It was exciting.




NOTE: I should apologize for the picture of poo on my blog, but then I realized that I'm not sorry. Furthermore, if that picture bothers you, maybe you shouldn't be reading my blog.




More Pictures.











Pictures.











Monday, August 17, 2009

Little over 4 months to go!

Well another week has come and gone! It is monday night here about 9-just got off work. We are hitting the homestretch and can't wait!
Still working on awards-got a little over 30 left-getting there!
Got to talk to the kids yesterday-they start school today-boy am I getting old. Very proud of them in doing so well in school and getting honors classes! Way to go.
Finished my class-should get a high B or low A. Starting my next class, accounting, tomorrow.
Preseason football has started! the Raiders are off to a winning record-hopefully they will keep it that way this year!
So proud of how well Linds and I are doing through this all-she is very supportive and awesome and couldn't do it without her.
Other than that-same old, same old-get up do pt, work, and sleep, but at least the days are going by fast!
Until next time....

Sunday, August 9, 2009

Another week down

Wow, its Sunday, Aug 9-a week since I last wrote-where did the week go? Its good-that much closer to coming home! Oh and in response to my wife's last post-I LOVE being married too!

Anyway, to catch u all up. It is Sunday night here around 8-just got off work. Sundays are usually quiet and able to catch up on a lot of work. Making progress on the awards-have 416 done! Should be done by this week.
Yesterday, we had a very nice memorial ceremony for SFC Polk-think he would have liked it.
Weather continues to go down a little bit which is very nice.
Have a little over 4 months to go! Can't wait. Still seeing if I will be able to take 2 weeks leave in Sep or Oct-that would be really nice-keep your fingers crossed.
Had to recommend legal action against one of my soldiers-disrespect. I have given him so many chances and still not able to help-I know he has a family-but this is the military and he signed the dotted line-there are consequences for actions.
Had to counsel another soldier today because he got a ticket for speeding on the FOB-for his corrective action I said to do a powerpoint presentation on safe driving due next week-he said he was not going to do it-we will see. If not-then legal action for him too. What is happening with today's army? Time for me to retire-3 more years to go!
My next promotion board meets in Oct and I should know whether or not I get it in Nov. In a way, I want it and in a way I don't, we will see.
Just finished week 4 of college class-one more week to go. Then I start my next class (principles of accounting on the 18th. Trying to knock out as much as I can.
Sorry I don't get on here much. By the time I get off around 9, I am tired and the last thing I want to do is get on the computer after being on all day.
Football starts today-preseason anyway. Games won't come on until about 3 or 4 in the morning here-so I am going to have to be picky about what games I watch.
Well, think that is all for now.
Miss and love you all.........

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

I LOVE being married.

That's it - just I love being married (and I love my hub).

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Sunday, Aug 2 Kirkuk

Well its Sunday night here in Kirkuk. Another week has flown by. It is so hard to believe it is August 2. We are on the down hill slope to getting out of here! We have been so busy, which is good. Can't wait to go home! The thing keeping me motivated is being able to come home and see my family and go on a cruise!
Been a wild week-got lots of red cross messages to deal with-but the best one we got was yesterday, where a baby was born. Usually the red cross messages are that someone is sick or dying, so it was nice to get some good news for a while.
Weather seems to be cooling down a little which is very nice.
I like Sundays here, because they are relatively quiet and can get a lot done. Tonight went over to the big DFAC for dinner and then came back and just chilled outside for a little talking with everyone-was kind of nice to relax for a few hours. Tomorrow starts another week!
Just finished week 3 of my class-2 more to go-still have an A-we will see how it goes. I start my next class right after this one. I'll eventually finish my degree!
Hope Joey had a terrific birthday-13-wow-Im old

Friday, July 31, 2009

31 July 2009


Today my husband's oldest child is 13 YEARS old... our child is 13 MONTHS old... lol. A little weird the age difference. Makes me feel young. Will be even more strange when we have another child in a few years and the oldest is like 17 and the youngest is a newborn... heehee.
Bar is doing so well. He is walking and running around the house now. He walks to and from the car a lot. He is trying to mimic what I say - duck, eye, ball, henri, etc. If I try to give him something he doesn't want, he shakes his head 'no', but on the other hand he will also throw a fit for something he DOES want. He is being so good and easy. I couldn't ask for a better little man. He loves his mommy and gives me hugs now. The best feeling is at the end of the day when I get to daycare to pick him up and he runs to me arms outstretched. He even tries to squeeze through a crack in the door to get to me - he doesn't want to wait. We miss daddy. Bar walks through the hallway now and points at his pictures saying 'GAAA!'... I guess that means daddy. He loves to point at his face in pictures.
My mother is leaving this weekend to come live with me for a while. I am both nervous and excited about how this is going to go... it will be awesome to have the help and maybe get a little sleep for once. However, it's always hard to be around someone new all the time and live with another adult.
Tomorrow morning we are going to the commissary. Then we have to do some cleaning and reorganizing for grandma to come. Sunday we will probably go play at the local indoor play center. Then, grandma should get here Sunday night.
Well, time to shower and then webcam with the love of my life. Oh, btw, he sent me a gift basket through FTD this week - gourmet tea with a mug, cookies and fruit and honey in an adorable box. It was the sweetest! That's like the 5th time for flowers or a gift since he left. All the ladies at work tell me how lucky I am - I tell them 'I know'. Everybody together now - AWWWWW! ;)
-Lu

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Another great hero lost....

On Thursday, SSG Polk, was killed in action and SPC Drake was seriously wounded. SPC Clemeno got shrapnel to his hand and one of our interpreters lost an eye. It has been a rough couple of days to say the least. This war is really taking a toll on us as a unit and as a family. I got to know SSG Polk really well over the last couple of weeks and he was a great man, great soldier, and great leader and we will surely miss him. He died doing what he loved to do though. Please keep your thoughts and prayers for all of their families.
We will always remember you Polk. Rest in Peace...

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

I love my job.

Four little words that people don't say enough. So many people just bitch and moan about their job and want another one. My brother switches jobs about once a month. Although these people give me job security (since I am in staffing), it still never ceases to amaze me. We offer jobs to so many people who want everything under the sun along with the job - want to work part time sometimes, make $20,000 more per year, want them to hold the job 3 months until they are ready to start. It amazes me. Even one of my coworkers is not happy no matter what. She makes WAY more money than the level at which she performs, but she still isn't happy. Not too mention that we work for the fed govt in a job that people would give years of their lives for, AND we have great job security!

I was sitting in a training class that we put on for all the new supervisors today. I was sitting at a table with our labor attorney, a DIV Surgeon, and a BN Cdr/Bde XO. All of a sudden, I thought 'WOW, I'm so lucky'. I don't want to do this job forever, but I couldn't ask for better experience than what I'm getting. I meet so many people, and all these professionals see me on the same level as them. I have COLs who insist I call them by their first names.... weird. Anyway,I love my job. I have days I complain, and my boss is a terrible supervisor (although a great person), but all considered, I'm pretty dang fortunate with today's economy.

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Lazy Sunday in Kirkuk

Well it is almost 8 pm here on a Sunday. Today was kind of a chill day-was pretty nice. Went in this morning and caught up on a lot of work and submitted my first paper for the class I am taking now (business communication-one week down, 4 to go!). Then this afternoon, I just hit a wall and really didn't feel like doing anything-one of those moments where would have been nice to be home in the States on a weekend and enjoying some family time. Been going non stop for almost 3 months now-7 days a week 13-14 hour day and it caught up. We had a little bbq today around 5. Had some good steak, cigars and near beer. It was just nice to relax and unwind a little. Left work around 730 tonight.
Been pretty quiet otherwise here. We continue to go through mountains of awards!
It hasn't been that hot lately-maybe it is cooling down now.
Other than that same old, same old.
Not much else to report. Will talk to you next time.....

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Eczema Treatment.

This is random, but I thought that if one person does and search and finds this help, it was worth the post.

I have always gotten eczema. I can remember scratching all night as a kid. Then in college, if I even touched a dusty desk, my wrists would break out. Well, after I had my son, the doctor told me to put cortizone on him when he got eczema. I did,and it seemed to work for his soft baby skin, but it doesn't for me. I happened across this combo that actually works. First, start with a sugar scrub (I use warm vanilla sugar scrub from Bath and Body Works) and scrub HARD. It sloughs off the dead skin cells and opens up the eczema. That doesn't sound good, but you follow it with Cortizone cream and then pure cocoa butter (not lotion, but the forumla - stick or tub of it). Do that at least once each day while keeping the cortizone and cocoa butter on it, and it will dry up. At least it works for me...

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Tuesday 14 Jun

Wow another week has flown by-sorry haven't been updating this. Lets see what has happened..
we have had two major sandstorms here the past week-one for about 3 days straight and now one for a day. It comes out of no where and literally can't see anything. They call it Iraqi snow here.
Things after the 30 Jun deadline have been relatively quiet.
We had a big visitor yesterday to our location-the Chairman of Joint Chiefs. He was supposed to be here for a couple of hours for a battle field circulation, but ended up staying overnight because the aircraft couldn't take off in the sandstorm.
My office has been very busy looking at and correcting and processing over 500 awards-definitely keeping us very busy. And one of my guys is currently on leave and another one will be going on leave pretty soon. So it will become even more crazy.
Speaking of leave, they are pushing hard to give me leave maybe in Sep or Oct-that would be great! Probably won't know for sure until end of Aug or beginning of Sep.
It is hard to believe that I have been here almost 3 months already! Can't wait to get home though!
Well it is 1015 at night-time for bed. Miss and love you all

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Don't take a one year old to a duck pond and others...

When we lived back east, I often would take Bar to the pond to feed the ducks. He always liked how they came up to him. Well, that was about 5 months ago. He is over a year now, and I thought that it would be a great tiime to take bread to the ducks at the pond. The pond was really nice and located on a college campus. I thought Bar may actually be able to toss the bread to the ducks. First of all, he ate the bread. Second, he LOVES animals. He started trying to crawl (he crawls faster than he walks) and chase the ducks to play with them. It kept breaking his heart every time they'd run from him. Finally, he started crying. I felt so bad for him - he just wanted to play. That will be the last time I take him to the pond for a loooong time - at least until he's old enough to understand that ducks aren't dogs, and they don't play well with others.

We went to an inflatable play center today. It was great. First, it was free - until he is 18 mth old. Woohoo. There was a specific toddler area where he could walk and crawl and play, and I didnt have to watch his every move. He was a little independent. It was awesome. There were a couple others babies just a little older than Barrett, but the weird thing is that Barrett looked(or at least acted) the oldest. I was always wayyy older mentally than I was,and I think that curse may be passed down to him. One of the babies - a boy - was such a wuss. He threw a fit any time another child even got near him. Bar accidentally kicked him in the head (not even hard), and he starts wailing. I wanted to say, 'good lord, stop being such a wuss'.... but he's a baby. :) then, the little girl started throwing a fit when bar was playing with her ball. So, I said,'Ok, Bar, she wants her ball.' He gladly handed it over and then clapped or himself. The other parent said 'he's so happy, is he always that way'. Yep- he has his moments, but he is REALLY good about sharing. I took him to DQ on the way home as a reward for being such a big boy. I got him a chocolate dipped cone - spoiled butt. He was trying to eat it from the bottom of the cone, though. It was cute. Then, we came home. He had a hotdog, cheese stick, and strawberries for dinner, we took the dog out, then meds and bed time.

I'm trying to find enough energy to clean the house from him destroying it this weekend.....

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

And the list rolls on...

Next on the list of Barrett's health problems related to allergies in this hideous state of Texas....

He now has asthma. I have always been scared that my child would have asthma. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I had a lot of breathing problems (as well as ear infections) when I was little, and it really messes with your life. I was an allstar athlete in high school but eventually had to quit all of them because I couldn't breathe. I did lie and join the Army, and I turned out to be fine. However, I've always been scared to death that my child would have it. Especially since his half sister has asthma - pretty severely (although her mother SWEARS she's allergic to gluten, which is an interesting concept for multiple reasons: 1) no rashes 2) it's extremely rare 3) she went to a witch doctor to evaluate her). Anyway, both her parents smoke which is never good for those with poor lungs, either. Bar has started having a chronic cough. It even wakes him at night. Since we've been here, it's been one thing after another with allergies - first the sinus infections and runny nose, then the clogged ears and ear surgery, now asthma. The doc put him on breathing treatments that i give him every 4 to 6 hours. This means treatment before work, going to daycare during lunch for treatment, then treatment in the evening when we get home, and I'm NOT waking him in the night for treatment. Then he takes an asthma medication every day. We will see if this works. All I know is that I'm DONE with Texas - my son's health is more important than anything. We are leaving when my husband comes back - end of story.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Monday evening in Kirkuk

Well it is almost 945 pm here on Mon Jul 6. It has been a pretty uneventful past couple of days. We have had a major sandstorm here for about 3 -4 days. Can't see anything! No flights in or out (that means no mail and nobody going home on leave) so everyone has been kind of down. It says it is supposed to clear tomorrow-we will see.
We were gonna bbq for the 4th-but the sandstorm put a damper on our plans. Oh well
So far it has been very quiet since Jun 30-lets hope it stays that way.
Anyway, time for bed. Until next time.Maybe I'll have more to report.

Thursday, July 2, 2009

NFL Coaches in Iraq


So it was a pretty good day today-5 NFL coaches came to pay us a visit-we got pictures, autographs and got to shake their hands. It was pretty neat-especially Bill Cower and John Gruden "Chuckie" former head coach of the Raiders

Got my haircut today-felt like a hippie and it is much cooler now with the mop off.

Laundry facililty finally found my bag-it was lost for about 3 days-starting to get worrried-but it worked out.

Hope everyone has a safe and happy 4th of July weekend

Miss and love you all

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Jul 1

Well, it is hard to believe it is Jul 1 already-almost 3 months done-time keeps continue to fly by, which is great by me!
The June 30 deadline came and went and really nothing significant has happened. We are still in a cautious mode. There is no change for us, but we have one of our companies that has been at another city and is moving here. If anything the bigger camps are going to become more crowded and the soldiers will have a lot more down time because they wont' be going on as many patrol as before-this is good and bad-gives them time to rest-but gives them time to get in trouble and think about home. We will continue to see what happens
We didn't have mail for 4 days because of airplane mechanical issues and weather-but we got some today. I got a letter from my beautiful wife and a box of candies from Mom and Dad-passed it out to some soldiers and they loved it-thanks a lot!
Tomorrow 5 NFL coaches are supposed to come here for an hour-probably going to be crazy-but I am going to try and go get some pics and autographs.
Yesterday was marathon meeting day-3 meetings back to back to back-I'm about all meeting out!
We had 3 more soldiers fly in today-they get lucky only a 6 month deployment!
The laundry service has lost one of my bags-hopefully by tomorrow they will find it-can;t wait to have a washer and dryer again of my own!
Probably going to have some sort of small 4th of Jul celebration here-hope everyone has a great weekend this weekend.
Well, I guess that is it for now until next time....

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

I'm getting bad at this....
















It's been over 2 weeks since my last post - oops! I always have intentions of writing, but by the time I get home, get bar fed and bathed, walk the dog, and get the house cleaned, I have very little energy to type before going to bed. I will try tonight....

1.Bilateral PE Tubes:
My baby had surgery last Friday - had tubes put in his ears. I think I had mentioned that I took him to the doc, and he was hearing nothing. Well, Friday we got there at 545 AM, then by 730 he was going into the OR. I was a nervous wreck, but fortunately the surgeons were super cool, and a lot of them were about my age. So we shot the shit, talked about their babies, and I felt fine about letting him go. He also fell asleep on my shoulder before they even took him, so he never knew any different. He is talking better - saying words more clearly and trying to repeat what I say, and he's trying to finally walk with brings me to number.....

2.First Multiple Steps:
Bar has taken a step or two and sat back down for several weeks now, but he wasn't progressing with his walking - partially due to clogged ears. Well, Saturday after the tubes, Daddy was webcamming with us, and Bar got up and took 6 steps toward the camera. I didn't think that he one of us would get to see his REAL first walk, let alone BOTH of us! It was awesome, and I'm so glad Daddy got to see it.
3.Single Motherhood: (oh, and by the way, sorry if this is harsh, but if you are not married but have a significant other in close proximity or if you have a lot of family or friends who regularly and often help with your kids, you are NOT a single mother for my intents and purposes)
I'm just gonna say it - it sucks. Well, okay, it doesn't all suck. I am the SOLE provider for my son, so balancing life is a bit tricky. The good part about it is that I get SO much one on one that it's wonderful bonding time. He and I are SO SO close. I love to see how excited he gets when I walk into the room at daycare to pick him up. He lights up, says 'Momom', and comes to me. However, the negative - Lately I've found us leaving home at 630 am and not getting back until 630 pm - work is crazy right now. On the weekends, I have to balance over time, cleaning the house, taking care of bills and normal life, and my son. However, I've actually found it pretty easy to compartmentalize everything - when I'm with bar, I am WITH him. I don't do the - you sit in front of the TV while I do other things. I actually play with him, we go to the pool, oh, and we had a good time last weekend building....

4.BMan Beach:
I love to take him to the real beach and the pool, but when it is just me, and I still have to carry him - all 22.14 lb of him - plus food, drinks, towels, floaties, toys, etc... it gets a bit rough. Therefore, I decided to build him his own beach in the backyard. We already had one baby pool, but I got another and filled one with water and the other with sand. I put his beach umbrella over it and some toys in the sand. I put my lounger beside it with an end table and my big umbrella, and there you have it - our own BMan beach. Btw, BMan was a nickname given by my friends. I don't know why, but they all started calling bar that.

5. Broken crib:
Well, I'm in need of some advice if anyone has it - and I dont ask for it often. Bar is strong - VERY strong. He can grab onto a chair and pull his whole body weight onto it just using his arms! He can move my 8 lb weights! Well, he is quite the active little booger and is especially so when I put him to bed in his crib. I can't be mad - I was the same way. I can remember doing sommersaults off the end of the bed and jumping on the bed til I crashed. Well, he was in bed, drank his bottle, then got up and started playing. He launched the bottle across the room - I heard it hit the floor. Then, he started slamming the crib into the wall from the inside. After about 15 min of that, I heard something metal and small hit the hard floor (the only time i was glad the floor is hard and not carpet). I went into his room, and low and behold, it was the screw for one side of the crib. He banged it into the wall so hard that he broke part of it!! He is too young still for his toddler bed, but I don't know what to do! I am seriously considering trying his toddler bed and just putting pillows around the bottom of it so that he can crawl up and down off of it until he figures out that he sleeps on it. I don't know, but I can't continue this with the crib. Most mothers get concerned their kids will crawl over their crib - I'm concerned mine will break it in two and fall out!

I think that's all I have in me tonight. I tried my best. I was supposed to webcam with my man tonight, but he didn't get on. His internet has been having some issues over there, so I'm sure that's all it was. I miss him terribly and can't wait for him to get home. We are planning to go on a cruise when he gets home. :) One whole week to ourselves - no baby.... going to be weird but beautiful! I have some other surprises in the works for him, too. Shhh, don't tell. :) <3

-Lu

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Thursday June 25 in Kirkuk




So another couple of days has gone by...Lets see


I got a coffee pot for my room finally! It is great now to wake up and have coffee again-ah the little things in life.


Today, I went outside the wire again to a Memorial Ceremony for 6 Iraqi soldiers that were killed a couple of months ago-it was a neat experience to see how they conduct ceremonies.


Got two packages from my lovely wife-a box of goodies and snacks-yeah! and box with some prize times-a blanket and a coffee mug!


Got to talk to the kids yesterday on the phone-it was nice.


Still waiting on what Jun 30 entails-it has now been declared a national holiday for them-we will see what happens


Hope Barrett's surgery goes well


Other than that just trying to stay cool. Miss and love you all




Sunday, June 21, 2009

2 Months Down!

So today is officially 2 months here and over with! A happy fathers day present to me! Oh, by the way, Happy Fathers Day to all the fathers out there!
Anyway, my boss is on leave left on Wednesday and will be gone for 3 weeks or so-so I am doing my job and his-definitely makes the time go by even faster.
I got to webcam with the kids the other day-it was great to see them! Probably am going to webcam with them again tomorrow. Got a card from them for Fathers day which was awesome.
So now the big thing is what June 30 and after is going to look like (the day American soldiers are supposed to be out of Iraq cities) and what it means to us. We should find out more this week.
Don't know much else to say-I work on a computer all day and the last thing I want to do when I come home is stay on the computer!
Miss and love you all.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Time flying by...

Wow, its hard to beat what my beautiful wife wrote in her last post-but glad she was able to vent and I agree with her!
To catch up with what has been going on around here. Sunday (14th) was the Army's Birthday-we had cake and all.
It is gettting hotter by the day here-average about 125 or so-a natural sauna!
My LT is getting ready to go on Leave tomorrow so I will be kept very busy doing all his work in his absence
In 5 days, I will have been here 2 months already-time is flying by so quickly which is very good!
Two officers in our unit got promoted today.
We had a little BBQ on Sunday afternoon-the food was actually pretty good-but I paid for it the next day!
We have heard from the unit that is going to replace us-that is a very good sign! Starting to work to transition for them.
Thats all I can think of for now. Will talk to you all later.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Priorities.

It has become apparent to me that many adults seem to have their priorities all messed up. Now these adults are mostly in their 30s, but that's the only group I have to judge b/c they are the ones I work with and encounter on a day to day basis. I went to pick bar up from school on Friday, and noticed that a woman in a Mercedes pulled in right before me. I walked in and got my son, and she was by her car when I got back out to mine. She had a little girl just a little older than my son. Of course my son and I were joking and laughing all the way to the car - the usual. I got there, put him in his car seat (that has crackers in it), strapped him in, gave him his computer toy, and handed him some banana cookies. (I have noticed that he gets really mad if I pick him up without food - he is hungry.) My car isn't as clean as it could be although I clean it out every weekend. It has clothes and his shoes and toys and sippy cups - and of course extra water, pedialyte, toys, diapers, wipes, and other stuff just in case. All of a sudden the woman in the benz asked me if I could help her w/ this car seat. I told her sure - as soon as I get this bottle made (my son comes first). I overheard her telling her daughter that she has crackers for her at home. I told the woman that the girl is welcome to some of bar's banana cookies if she would like. The woman said, "She doesn't need ANYTHING in THIS car..." Then, I proceeded to go over and show her how a child's carseat straps into the seat. It wasn't even attached right, and I told her that she needed to remove the seat in order to tighten the straps and properly secure her child. She said, 'oh, she'll be fine for now', and shut the door. This woman's priorities were ALL JACKED UP. First off, why do you own a mercedes if you are going to have a baby. If you actually could afford a mercedes and weren't living out of your means, you wouldn't CARE if he got it messy. Also, did you not bother to read the instructions on how to strap in your child?? It doesn't take an engineer to master a car seat for God's sake - not to mention how did she get her to school that morning in the first place? You can guarantee that she made time to clean her car that day - it was spotless... grrrr.

Second example - someone I work with. She is so dang picky about everything - her nails weren't done perfectly, she doesn't like lotion with mineral oil - has to make her own, she must match her handbag to her shoes and clothes, owns 2 vehicles for herself, etc. However, do her kids have college funds? She gives them money to spend on hair weaves, clothes, shoes, purses, etc, but how are they going to school? Why do they not yet have THEIR licenses? They don't have jobs, they have no motivation. Then she wonders why her son doesn't care about school, doesn't have motivation to go to college.... I want to remind her that she had him at 18 and didn't have a day of college either. Kids imitate what they see. If you are too busy buying handbags and doing your nails but you show up to work 30 min late EVERY day, take long lunches, make other people late, call in for no reason, and never take classes for school - um, duh, they will do the same.

Another - I tend to take my son to the pool on the weekends and to the park at least twice a week. You know how many kids I see who are like 3 and entering the water for the first time? Or kids are running at the pool, causing trouble, hanging on rails, being rude - and they are like 7. Where are their parents? Do you get lazy by the time your kids are that age? Why are you not playing with them? And these are the same folks who look down on mothers who work and aren't at home - saying someone else raises our kids. No, we may just no have as clean of a home as we wish or our vehicles may not be perfect, but you know what? We are spending that time PLAYING with our kids! My father always comments that my son is the most intelligent baby he's ever seen - and I do think he's smart. However, it's because I actually interact with him. I tell him what a tree is, what a dog is - he knows the difference b/w a horse, a dog, a cat. I read with him, and we play. No one could ever say they are closer than my son and myself - stay at home mother or not.

The other priority that kills me is people with their spouses. My girlfriends are constantly saying how NICE I am to my husband - 'Oh, you are so good, there's no way I would take that much time to do that' or 'No way I was ever that sweet to my husband'..... right, well that is why you are on your third husband. I actually married mine b/c I love him, and I will work hard to maintain the marriage. I didn't go in with false hopes that it would be a fairy tale and just be magical. NO, marriages are work - you are in a relationship with ANOTHER PERSON, not an extension of yourself. Your spouse has thoughts and feelings and makes mistakes like a human being. Please understand that and quit giving up just because it isn't perfect every moment. You know why? Because when you do, you ruin that person for the next spouse. We forever have to make up for the fact that you were a terrible wife/husband. I see it with women whose husbands are deployed. They will put so much effort into impressing other men while their husbands are gone - well, if you put a little bit of effort into supporting your husband, maybe your marriage would make it.

Okay, I think I'm done with my rant for tonight. I just get really sick of people - especially those in their 30s. My husband is in his 30s, and I love him to death. It seems to be more women in their 30s. It's like they are 'grown' but haven't quite figured it out yet. A lot of them are lazy and trying to relive their younger days again. I get so sick of them saying how young I am, too - well, I guess that's why age and wisdom are not synonymous.

-Lu

Thursday, June 11, 2009

And Thurs in the US....
















Well, my dad left this morning. He has been here visiting since Saturday. He spoiled Barrett rotten. He also said that Bar is the most intelligent toddler he's ever seen - he said he didn't remember any of us kids being so advanced or any of my neices/nephew. I have to agree, but then again he has the smartest dad I've ever known. :) Bar turned 1 on Tues. My dad and I along with my friend and her kids took him to Chuck e Cheese. He LOVED it. He had so much fun and played with all the kids there.










Work is the usual - good but hectic. We had another job fair today, and I got a certificate from the garrison commander as rep for my office. I was the only specialist who volunteered and went. All the women in my office are LAME. They are in their 30s/40s, hate kids, and NO personality. Yes, be jealous that I'm young and achieving, I don't give a shit any more. Had an issue with one of them today. Until then, I got along with all of them great. However, what she really thinks came out. There is such a weird vibe with women in my career field. They hoard information and are afraid that the new people coming in will beat them out. Well, with their attitudes, they are right. Grrrr......










Other than that, same old same old. My dad told me it looks like i've lost all the baby weight. I told him I have 5-6 lbs, but it still felt good to hear - especially from him. He doesn't freely hand out compliments.










Last thing I have to say is that I love my husband. I missed his call today b/c i was at the job fair, and I hated that. I guess it's going to happen sometimes. I'm so proud of him being so positive. :)





Thursday night in Kirkuk (for lack of a better title!)

Another 4 days has passed-time is flying by-which is fantastic!
Highlights for this week:
We had the Memorial Ceremony for SGT Kurth yesterday at 10 am. A big crowd came-over 500 people and it was very nicely done. It really hit home and was very touching.
Today, the Corps Command Sergeant Major came to pay our Headquarters a visit and it went really well-got to shake his hand and everything-I know he is another human being-but pretty important in the Army world.
Got to eat some steak last night which was very good along with a baked potatoe-the simple things in life!
Proud of my wife for gettting an award today at work!
Hoping the SC kids enjoy their well deserved summer vacation
Was so glad that I was able to webcam Barrett's birthday and see him eat cake and open presents on his birthday-1 year already-man time is flying and I'm getting old!
We have had a couple of sandstorms here the past couple of days-sand doesn't taste so good!
Averaging about 113 degrees or so everyday-thank god for air conditioning!
Anyway, think that is about it for now. Talk to you all next time.....

Monday, June 8, 2009

Monday night in Kirkuk

Well it is 930 pm here. Just got home from work. The days continue to fly by here, which is very nice! Lets see to catch you up from last blog, if I can remember! (I'm getting old you know!)
Continued to work this weekend. We got photos of our office taken for the yearbook they are putting together. I managed to get my haircut and go to the PX to get some necessities.

Happy Birthday to Dad and Barrett! (it was real nice of Mackenzie to send a e card for barrett)

Happy last day of School for Joey and Mackenzie-enjoy your summer!

I received a goody/care package from my beautiful loving wife today-a blanket, some pictures, some cookies (delicious) and some candy-awesome. Also, got a letter from Aunt Joy.

Got woken up again last night around 2 to handle a redcross message-they are becoming more regular-so much for sleep!

Seems to be getting hotter by the day-they said today it was 113.

Well, I guess that is all I can think of for now. Miss and love you all. Until next time....

Friday, June 5, 2009

Sad day yesterday.....

So yesterday about 1 pm our time, we received some bad news-that a soldier, SPC Kurth, was killed in action. It sure put a damper on the day to say the least. We were put on blackout (where we can't communicate with the outside world) until the Next of Kin was formally notified. We had a ramp ceremony for him about 730 pm. It was really an amazing emotional event. About 300 Army soldiers lined up in four ranks on one side and then about an equal number of Air force personnel lined up on the other side facing us-with a walkway in the middle. Then the coffin was walked through the flightline, through us and loaded onto the plane. This is the second soldier we lost in the unit-SSG Webster died before I got here-makes you put in perspective the war going on. The base will be having a memorial ceremony for him on Wed.
It makes you appreciate life and family and friends-so on that note-love you all. I love my beautiful wife, Linds. My terrific four kids-Joey, Mackenzie, Joel and Barrett and Mom and Dad and Brother and Sister in law and extended family so big I can't name them all here!

Anyway, onto a more positive note. I am finishing week 3 of class. So far I have a 97. Two more weeks to go. Then I take a week break and go into the next class.

We had a big duststorm today. There was supposed to be a band, The Effects, come play for us-but they couldn't land here-so we will have to get rescheduled.

I;m hoping getting tubes in Barretts ears will help him out and make him feel better

Well, time to get some shut eye for the night. Until next time.....

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Tuesday Jun 2

Well, its already been another 2 days since last posting-time is flying by very quickly-which is very good!

Lets see to catch you up on what has transpired over the last two days. Woke up Monday morning and wasn't feeling too well-my stomach was hurting-think from all the dairy I have been eating-it took a day to get over, but feeling better now.

Anyway for PT on Monday we cleaned out our Conex-no one had done it before and it was a mess and found out what supplies we had and what we needed to order.

All day monday was spent processing actions and managed to slip over to the PX to buy some necessities. Today was pretty much the same, went to the gym for PT and had to turn in laundry-I actually miss doing laundry-not the folding part of it though!

Other than that, same old same old. I like the new patio furniture-looks great

Sunday, May 31, 2009

more pics...










The top two are of bar at the park. I have started trying to take him to the park more often. We go at least twice a week after work so that I can run, then he can play. We swing and go down the slides.
The bottom two are of our new patio furniture. I was going to buy some for the back, but a friend of mine offered hers to me for free. SOLD! It is actually really nice. There are 4 swivel chairs and a square table, also a small table - she's giving me a lounger and the umbrella, too - not pictured above. The flowers in the middle of the table my loving husband sent to me.. :)
We went with a friend of mine to the stables today to see her horse. Bar didn't know what to think because he was so large. There was a mini pony there that he just LOVED!! I think we need to get him one. :)
My Michael is doing so well overseas, and I'm very proud of him. It's been great to be able to webcam with him. I have the best husband in the world.
-Lu

Last Day of May...

So today is May 31, the last day of May-where did the time go! Its amazing. Only 6 and a half more months till I am out of here and get to see my baby!
Anyway, to catch you up on things here. It has been very busy here. We had to pull a 24 hour shift last night due to a mission. Boy were we all hurting today. Gives me a great appreciation for Mothers that get up with their babies for a year-Linds you are great -Thank you so much!
I drank a lot of coffee and was good up until about 4 am and then it hit me.
Got to talk to the kids a little bit today which was very good and they are doing great-I am so proud of them.
Was able to have lots of webcam dates and chats with my beautiful wife which keeps me going-thanks so much.
Love the pictures that she posted on her last blogs-Randoms-they are great.
Its hard to believe that in 20 days I will been here 2 months already.
The temperature is continuing to soar everyday. I think I am sweating some much needed pounds off!
Been catching up on reading books and everything.
Sure do miss little things in the States that we dont have here-dont take things for granted!
I finished my 2nd week of college class-3 more weeks to go-I got a 100 on my paper this week-a pleasant surprise. Anyway, think that is it for now. Miss and love you all.....

Friday, May 29, 2009

Randoms...











I don't really have anything to say, so I thought I'd just post some pics......



Monday, May 25, 2009

Another hot, dusty day

Hi everyone-hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend. I appreciate everyone's emails to me on this day. I am proud to be a soldier and to serve our country-the least I can do.
Anyway, the temperature is really heating up-gets up to about 115 during the day and we haven't even hit summer yet! Going to be a hot one! I think I have sweated off about 5 pounds so far. We do get ice cream sandwiches and bars every once in a while so they taste really good.
I have just finished the first week of my class and submitted my first paper-think it is going to be a pretty easy class.
Because all of the sandstorms lately, a lot of flights for people taking leave have been cancelled. It sucks! hopefully the weather will cooperate and we can get these soldiers home for a little 2 week break.
IT has been so great being able to webcam with Linds-makes me feel that I am there and not missing anything.
Nothing else major to report. Until next time...

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Why do we bathe our children?









Look at these pictures. Bar took a bath this evening and not even 20 minutes later, he was playing in the mud. It was raining, and little Dennis the Menace was playing in the water coming off the roof. He even put his mouth on the ground and tried to drink it. :) He tried to eat the mud as well.... and of course he smiled the whole time. I don't even know why we bother...