Tuesday, June 30, 2009

I'm getting bad at this....
















It's been over 2 weeks since my last post - oops! I always have intentions of writing, but by the time I get home, get bar fed and bathed, walk the dog, and get the house cleaned, I have very little energy to type before going to bed. I will try tonight....

1.Bilateral PE Tubes:
My baby had surgery last Friday - had tubes put in his ears. I think I had mentioned that I took him to the doc, and he was hearing nothing. Well, Friday we got there at 545 AM, then by 730 he was going into the OR. I was a nervous wreck, but fortunately the surgeons were super cool, and a lot of them were about my age. So we shot the shit, talked about their babies, and I felt fine about letting him go. He also fell asleep on my shoulder before they even took him, so he never knew any different. He is talking better - saying words more clearly and trying to repeat what I say, and he's trying to finally walk with brings me to number.....

2.First Multiple Steps:
Bar has taken a step or two and sat back down for several weeks now, but he wasn't progressing with his walking - partially due to clogged ears. Well, Saturday after the tubes, Daddy was webcamming with us, and Bar got up and took 6 steps toward the camera. I didn't think that he one of us would get to see his REAL first walk, let alone BOTH of us! It was awesome, and I'm so glad Daddy got to see it.
3.Single Motherhood: (oh, and by the way, sorry if this is harsh, but if you are not married but have a significant other in close proximity or if you have a lot of family or friends who regularly and often help with your kids, you are NOT a single mother for my intents and purposes)
I'm just gonna say it - it sucks. Well, okay, it doesn't all suck. I am the SOLE provider for my son, so balancing life is a bit tricky. The good part about it is that I get SO much one on one that it's wonderful bonding time. He and I are SO SO close. I love to see how excited he gets when I walk into the room at daycare to pick him up. He lights up, says 'Momom', and comes to me. However, the negative - Lately I've found us leaving home at 630 am and not getting back until 630 pm - work is crazy right now. On the weekends, I have to balance over time, cleaning the house, taking care of bills and normal life, and my son. However, I've actually found it pretty easy to compartmentalize everything - when I'm with bar, I am WITH him. I don't do the - you sit in front of the TV while I do other things. I actually play with him, we go to the pool, oh, and we had a good time last weekend building....

4.BMan Beach:
I love to take him to the real beach and the pool, but when it is just me, and I still have to carry him - all 22.14 lb of him - plus food, drinks, towels, floaties, toys, etc... it gets a bit rough. Therefore, I decided to build him his own beach in the backyard. We already had one baby pool, but I got another and filled one with water and the other with sand. I put his beach umbrella over it and some toys in the sand. I put my lounger beside it with an end table and my big umbrella, and there you have it - our own BMan beach. Btw, BMan was a nickname given by my friends. I don't know why, but they all started calling bar that.

5. Broken crib:
Well, I'm in need of some advice if anyone has it - and I dont ask for it often. Bar is strong - VERY strong. He can grab onto a chair and pull his whole body weight onto it just using his arms! He can move my 8 lb weights! Well, he is quite the active little booger and is especially so when I put him to bed in his crib. I can't be mad - I was the same way. I can remember doing sommersaults off the end of the bed and jumping on the bed til I crashed. Well, he was in bed, drank his bottle, then got up and started playing. He launched the bottle across the room - I heard it hit the floor. Then, he started slamming the crib into the wall from the inside. After about 15 min of that, I heard something metal and small hit the hard floor (the only time i was glad the floor is hard and not carpet). I went into his room, and low and behold, it was the screw for one side of the crib. He banged it into the wall so hard that he broke part of it!! He is too young still for his toddler bed, but I don't know what to do! I am seriously considering trying his toddler bed and just putting pillows around the bottom of it so that he can crawl up and down off of it until he figures out that he sleeps on it. I don't know, but I can't continue this with the crib. Most mothers get concerned their kids will crawl over their crib - I'm concerned mine will break it in two and fall out!

I think that's all I have in me tonight. I tried my best. I was supposed to webcam with my man tonight, but he didn't get on. His internet has been having some issues over there, so I'm sure that's all it was. I miss him terribly and can't wait for him to get home. We are planning to go on a cruise when he gets home. :) One whole week to ourselves - no baby.... going to be weird but beautiful! I have some other surprises in the works for him, too. Shhh, don't tell. :) <3

-Lu

No comments:

Post a Comment