Sunday, July 12, 2009

Don't take a one year old to a duck pond and others...

When we lived back east, I often would take Bar to the pond to feed the ducks. He always liked how they came up to him. Well, that was about 5 months ago. He is over a year now, and I thought that it would be a great tiime to take bread to the ducks at the pond. The pond was really nice and located on a college campus. I thought Bar may actually be able to toss the bread to the ducks. First of all, he ate the bread. Second, he LOVES animals. He started trying to crawl (he crawls faster than he walks) and chase the ducks to play with them. It kept breaking his heart every time they'd run from him. Finally, he started crying. I felt so bad for him - he just wanted to play. That will be the last time I take him to the pond for a loooong time - at least until he's old enough to understand that ducks aren't dogs, and they don't play well with others.

We went to an inflatable play center today. It was great. First, it was free - until he is 18 mth old. Woohoo. There was a specific toddler area where he could walk and crawl and play, and I didnt have to watch his every move. He was a little independent. It was awesome. There were a couple others babies just a little older than Barrett, but the weird thing is that Barrett looked(or at least acted) the oldest. I was always wayyy older mentally than I was,and I think that curse may be passed down to him. One of the babies - a boy - was such a wuss. He threw a fit any time another child even got near him. Bar accidentally kicked him in the head (not even hard), and he starts wailing. I wanted to say, 'good lord, stop being such a wuss'.... but he's a baby. :) then, the little girl started throwing a fit when bar was playing with her ball. So, I said,'Ok, Bar, she wants her ball.' He gladly handed it over and then clapped or himself. The other parent said 'he's so happy, is he always that way'. Yep- he has his moments, but he is REALLY good about sharing. I took him to DQ on the way home as a reward for being such a big boy. I got him a chocolate dipped cone - spoiled butt. He was trying to eat it from the bottom of the cone, though. It was cute. Then, we came home. He had a hotdog, cheese stick, and strawberries for dinner, we took the dog out, then meds and bed time.

I'm trying to find enough energy to clean the house from him destroying it this weekend.....

No comments:

Post a Comment