Tuesday, June 30, 2009

I'm getting bad at this....
















It's been over 2 weeks since my last post - oops! I always have intentions of writing, but by the time I get home, get bar fed and bathed, walk the dog, and get the house cleaned, I have very little energy to type before going to bed. I will try tonight....

1.Bilateral PE Tubes:
My baby had surgery last Friday - had tubes put in his ears. I think I had mentioned that I took him to the doc, and he was hearing nothing. Well, Friday we got there at 545 AM, then by 730 he was going into the OR. I was a nervous wreck, but fortunately the surgeons were super cool, and a lot of them were about my age. So we shot the shit, talked about their babies, and I felt fine about letting him go. He also fell asleep on my shoulder before they even took him, so he never knew any different. He is talking better - saying words more clearly and trying to repeat what I say, and he's trying to finally walk with brings me to number.....

2.First Multiple Steps:
Bar has taken a step or two and sat back down for several weeks now, but he wasn't progressing with his walking - partially due to clogged ears. Well, Saturday after the tubes, Daddy was webcamming with us, and Bar got up and took 6 steps toward the camera. I didn't think that he one of us would get to see his REAL first walk, let alone BOTH of us! It was awesome, and I'm so glad Daddy got to see it.
3.Single Motherhood: (oh, and by the way, sorry if this is harsh, but if you are not married but have a significant other in close proximity or if you have a lot of family or friends who regularly and often help with your kids, you are NOT a single mother for my intents and purposes)
I'm just gonna say it - it sucks. Well, okay, it doesn't all suck. I am the SOLE provider for my son, so balancing life is a bit tricky. The good part about it is that I get SO much one on one that it's wonderful bonding time. He and I are SO SO close. I love to see how excited he gets when I walk into the room at daycare to pick him up. He lights up, says 'Momom', and comes to me. However, the negative - Lately I've found us leaving home at 630 am and not getting back until 630 pm - work is crazy right now. On the weekends, I have to balance over time, cleaning the house, taking care of bills and normal life, and my son. However, I've actually found it pretty easy to compartmentalize everything - when I'm with bar, I am WITH him. I don't do the - you sit in front of the TV while I do other things. I actually play with him, we go to the pool, oh, and we had a good time last weekend building....

4.BMan Beach:
I love to take him to the real beach and the pool, but when it is just me, and I still have to carry him - all 22.14 lb of him - plus food, drinks, towels, floaties, toys, etc... it gets a bit rough. Therefore, I decided to build him his own beach in the backyard. We already had one baby pool, but I got another and filled one with water and the other with sand. I put his beach umbrella over it and some toys in the sand. I put my lounger beside it with an end table and my big umbrella, and there you have it - our own BMan beach. Btw, BMan was a nickname given by my friends. I don't know why, but they all started calling bar that.

5. Broken crib:
Well, I'm in need of some advice if anyone has it - and I dont ask for it often. Bar is strong - VERY strong. He can grab onto a chair and pull his whole body weight onto it just using his arms! He can move my 8 lb weights! Well, he is quite the active little booger and is especially so when I put him to bed in his crib. I can't be mad - I was the same way. I can remember doing sommersaults off the end of the bed and jumping on the bed til I crashed. Well, he was in bed, drank his bottle, then got up and started playing. He launched the bottle across the room - I heard it hit the floor. Then, he started slamming the crib into the wall from the inside. After about 15 min of that, I heard something metal and small hit the hard floor (the only time i was glad the floor is hard and not carpet). I went into his room, and low and behold, it was the screw for one side of the crib. He banged it into the wall so hard that he broke part of it!! He is too young still for his toddler bed, but I don't know what to do! I am seriously considering trying his toddler bed and just putting pillows around the bottom of it so that he can crawl up and down off of it until he figures out that he sleeps on it. I don't know, but I can't continue this with the crib. Most mothers get concerned their kids will crawl over their crib - I'm concerned mine will break it in two and fall out!

I think that's all I have in me tonight. I tried my best. I was supposed to webcam with my man tonight, but he didn't get on. His internet has been having some issues over there, so I'm sure that's all it was. I miss him terribly and can't wait for him to get home. We are planning to go on a cruise when he gets home. :) One whole week to ourselves - no baby.... going to be weird but beautiful! I have some other surprises in the works for him, too. Shhh, don't tell. :) <3

-Lu

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Thursday June 25 in Kirkuk




So another couple of days has gone by...Lets see


I got a coffee pot for my room finally! It is great now to wake up and have coffee again-ah the little things in life.


Today, I went outside the wire again to a Memorial Ceremony for 6 Iraqi soldiers that were killed a couple of months ago-it was a neat experience to see how they conduct ceremonies.


Got two packages from my lovely wife-a box of goodies and snacks-yeah! and box with some prize times-a blanket and a coffee mug!


Got to talk to the kids yesterday on the phone-it was nice.


Still waiting on what Jun 30 entails-it has now been declared a national holiday for them-we will see what happens


Hope Barrett's surgery goes well


Other than that just trying to stay cool. Miss and love you all




Sunday, June 21, 2009

2 Months Down!

So today is officially 2 months here and over with! A happy fathers day present to me! Oh, by the way, Happy Fathers Day to all the fathers out there!
Anyway, my boss is on leave left on Wednesday and will be gone for 3 weeks or so-so I am doing my job and his-definitely makes the time go by even faster.
I got to webcam with the kids the other day-it was great to see them! Probably am going to webcam with them again tomorrow. Got a card from them for Fathers day which was awesome.
So now the big thing is what June 30 and after is going to look like (the day American soldiers are supposed to be out of Iraq cities) and what it means to us. We should find out more this week.
Don't know much else to say-I work on a computer all day and the last thing I want to do when I come home is stay on the computer!
Miss and love you all.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Time flying by...

Wow, its hard to beat what my beautiful wife wrote in her last post-but glad she was able to vent and I agree with her!
To catch up with what has been going on around here. Sunday (14th) was the Army's Birthday-we had cake and all.
It is gettting hotter by the day here-average about 125 or so-a natural sauna!
My LT is getting ready to go on Leave tomorrow so I will be kept very busy doing all his work in his absence
In 5 days, I will have been here 2 months already-time is flying by so quickly which is very good!
Two officers in our unit got promoted today.
We had a little BBQ on Sunday afternoon-the food was actually pretty good-but I paid for it the next day!
We have heard from the unit that is going to replace us-that is a very good sign! Starting to work to transition for them.
Thats all I can think of for now. Will talk to you all later.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Priorities.

It has become apparent to me that many adults seem to have their priorities all messed up. Now these adults are mostly in their 30s, but that's the only group I have to judge b/c they are the ones I work with and encounter on a day to day basis. I went to pick bar up from school on Friday, and noticed that a woman in a Mercedes pulled in right before me. I walked in and got my son, and she was by her car when I got back out to mine. She had a little girl just a little older than my son. Of course my son and I were joking and laughing all the way to the car - the usual. I got there, put him in his car seat (that has crackers in it), strapped him in, gave him his computer toy, and handed him some banana cookies. (I have noticed that he gets really mad if I pick him up without food - he is hungry.) My car isn't as clean as it could be although I clean it out every weekend. It has clothes and his shoes and toys and sippy cups - and of course extra water, pedialyte, toys, diapers, wipes, and other stuff just in case. All of a sudden the woman in the benz asked me if I could help her w/ this car seat. I told her sure - as soon as I get this bottle made (my son comes first). I overheard her telling her daughter that she has crackers for her at home. I told the woman that the girl is welcome to some of bar's banana cookies if she would like. The woman said, "She doesn't need ANYTHING in THIS car..." Then, I proceeded to go over and show her how a child's carseat straps into the seat. It wasn't even attached right, and I told her that she needed to remove the seat in order to tighten the straps and properly secure her child. She said, 'oh, she'll be fine for now', and shut the door. This woman's priorities were ALL JACKED UP. First off, why do you own a mercedes if you are going to have a baby. If you actually could afford a mercedes and weren't living out of your means, you wouldn't CARE if he got it messy. Also, did you not bother to read the instructions on how to strap in your child?? It doesn't take an engineer to master a car seat for God's sake - not to mention how did she get her to school that morning in the first place? You can guarantee that she made time to clean her car that day - it was spotless... grrrr.

Second example - someone I work with. She is so dang picky about everything - her nails weren't done perfectly, she doesn't like lotion with mineral oil - has to make her own, she must match her handbag to her shoes and clothes, owns 2 vehicles for herself, etc. However, do her kids have college funds? She gives them money to spend on hair weaves, clothes, shoes, purses, etc, but how are they going to school? Why do they not yet have THEIR licenses? They don't have jobs, they have no motivation. Then she wonders why her son doesn't care about school, doesn't have motivation to go to college.... I want to remind her that she had him at 18 and didn't have a day of college either. Kids imitate what they see. If you are too busy buying handbags and doing your nails but you show up to work 30 min late EVERY day, take long lunches, make other people late, call in for no reason, and never take classes for school - um, duh, they will do the same.

Another - I tend to take my son to the pool on the weekends and to the park at least twice a week. You know how many kids I see who are like 3 and entering the water for the first time? Or kids are running at the pool, causing trouble, hanging on rails, being rude - and they are like 7. Where are their parents? Do you get lazy by the time your kids are that age? Why are you not playing with them? And these are the same folks who look down on mothers who work and aren't at home - saying someone else raises our kids. No, we may just no have as clean of a home as we wish or our vehicles may not be perfect, but you know what? We are spending that time PLAYING with our kids! My father always comments that my son is the most intelligent baby he's ever seen - and I do think he's smart. However, it's because I actually interact with him. I tell him what a tree is, what a dog is - he knows the difference b/w a horse, a dog, a cat. I read with him, and we play. No one could ever say they are closer than my son and myself - stay at home mother or not.

The other priority that kills me is people with their spouses. My girlfriends are constantly saying how NICE I am to my husband - 'Oh, you are so good, there's no way I would take that much time to do that' or 'No way I was ever that sweet to my husband'..... right, well that is why you are on your third husband. I actually married mine b/c I love him, and I will work hard to maintain the marriage. I didn't go in with false hopes that it would be a fairy tale and just be magical. NO, marriages are work - you are in a relationship with ANOTHER PERSON, not an extension of yourself. Your spouse has thoughts and feelings and makes mistakes like a human being. Please understand that and quit giving up just because it isn't perfect every moment. You know why? Because when you do, you ruin that person for the next spouse. We forever have to make up for the fact that you were a terrible wife/husband. I see it with women whose husbands are deployed. They will put so much effort into impressing other men while their husbands are gone - well, if you put a little bit of effort into supporting your husband, maybe your marriage would make it.

Okay, I think I'm done with my rant for tonight. I just get really sick of people - especially those in their 30s. My husband is in his 30s, and I love him to death. It seems to be more women in their 30s. It's like they are 'grown' but haven't quite figured it out yet. A lot of them are lazy and trying to relive their younger days again. I get so sick of them saying how young I am, too - well, I guess that's why age and wisdom are not synonymous.

-Lu

Thursday, June 11, 2009

And Thurs in the US....
















Well, my dad left this morning. He has been here visiting since Saturday. He spoiled Barrett rotten. He also said that Bar is the most intelligent toddler he's ever seen - he said he didn't remember any of us kids being so advanced or any of my neices/nephew. I have to agree, but then again he has the smartest dad I've ever known. :) Bar turned 1 on Tues. My dad and I along with my friend and her kids took him to Chuck e Cheese. He LOVED it. He had so much fun and played with all the kids there.










Work is the usual - good but hectic. We had another job fair today, and I got a certificate from the garrison commander as rep for my office. I was the only specialist who volunteered and went. All the women in my office are LAME. They are in their 30s/40s, hate kids, and NO personality. Yes, be jealous that I'm young and achieving, I don't give a shit any more. Had an issue with one of them today. Until then, I got along with all of them great. However, what she really thinks came out. There is such a weird vibe with women in my career field. They hoard information and are afraid that the new people coming in will beat them out. Well, with their attitudes, they are right. Grrrr......










Other than that, same old same old. My dad told me it looks like i've lost all the baby weight. I told him I have 5-6 lbs, but it still felt good to hear - especially from him. He doesn't freely hand out compliments.










Last thing I have to say is that I love my husband. I missed his call today b/c i was at the job fair, and I hated that. I guess it's going to happen sometimes. I'm so proud of him being so positive. :)





Thursday night in Kirkuk (for lack of a better title!)

Another 4 days has passed-time is flying by-which is fantastic!
Highlights for this week:
We had the Memorial Ceremony for SGT Kurth yesterday at 10 am. A big crowd came-over 500 people and it was very nicely done. It really hit home and was very touching.
Today, the Corps Command Sergeant Major came to pay our Headquarters a visit and it went really well-got to shake his hand and everything-I know he is another human being-but pretty important in the Army world.
Got to eat some steak last night which was very good along with a baked potatoe-the simple things in life!
Proud of my wife for gettting an award today at work!
Hoping the SC kids enjoy their well deserved summer vacation
Was so glad that I was able to webcam Barrett's birthday and see him eat cake and open presents on his birthday-1 year already-man time is flying and I'm getting old!
We have had a couple of sandstorms here the past couple of days-sand doesn't taste so good!
Averaging about 113 degrees or so everyday-thank god for air conditioning!
Anyway, think that is about it for now. Talk to you all next time.....

Monday, June 8, 2009

Monday night in Kirkuk

Well it is 930 pm here. Just got home from work. The days continue to fly by here, which is very nice! Lets see to catch you up from last blog, if I can remember! (I'm getting old you know!)
Continued to work this weekend. We got photos of our office taken for the yearbook they are putting together. I managed to get my haircut and go to the PX to get some necessities.

Happy Birthday to Dad and Barrett! (it was real nice of Mackenzie to send a e card for barrett)

Happy last day of School for Joey and Mackenzie-enjoy your summer!

I received a goody/care package from my beautiful loving wife today-a blanket, some pictures, some cookies (delicious) and some candy-awesome. Also, got a letter from Aunt Joy.

Got woken up again last night around 2 to handle a redcross message-they are becoming more regular-so much for sleep!

Seems to be getting hotter by the day-they said today it was 113.

Well, I guess that is all I can think of for now. Miss and love you all. Until next time....

Friday, June 5, 2009

Sad day yesterday.....

So yesterday about 1 pm our time, we received some bad news-that a soldier, SPC Kurth, was killed in action. It sure put a damper on the day to say the least. We were put on blackout (where we can't communicate with the outside world) until the Next of Kin was formally notified. We had a ramp ceremony for him about 730 pm. It was really an amazing emotional event. About 300 Army soldiers lined up in four ranks on one side and then about an equal number of Air force personnel lined up on the other side facing us-with a walkway in the middle. Then the coffin was walked through the flightline, through us and loaded onto the plane. This is the second soldier we lost in the unit-SSG Webster died before I got here-makes you put in perspective the war going on. The base will be having a memorial ceremony for him on Wed.
It makes you appreciate life and family and friends-so on that note-love you all. I love my beautiful wife, Linds. My terrific four kids-Joey, Mackenzie, Joel and Barrett and Mom and Dad and Brother and Sister in law and extended family so big I can't name them all here!

Anyway, onto a more positive note. I am finishing week 3 of class. So far I have a 97. Two more weeks to go. Then I take a week break and go into the next class.

We had a big duststorm today. There was supposed to be a band, The Effects, come play for us-but they couldn't land here-so we will have to get rescheduled.

I;m hoping getting tubes in Barretts ears will help him out and make him feel better

Well, time to get some shut eye for the night. Until next time.....

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Tuesday Jun 2

Well, its already been another 2 days since last posting-time is flying by very quickly-which is very good!

Lets see to catch you up on what has transpired over the last two days. Woke up Monday morning and wasn't feeling too well-my stomach was hurting-think from all the dairy I have been eating-it took a day to get over, but feeling better now.

Anyway for PT on Monday we cleaned out our Conex-no one had done it before and it was a mess and found out what supplies we had and what we needed to order.

All day monday was spent processing actions and managed to slip over to the PX to buy some necessities. Today was pretty much the same, went to the gym for PT and had to turn in laundry-I actually miss doing laundry-not the folding part of it though!

Other than that, same old same old. I like the new patio furniture-looks great