Tuesday, May 5, 2009

It's been a while

I have been neglecting our blog - partially because I have been busy, the other part because my man told me he can't read it right now anyway. His pc's internet isn't up, and we can't get to it on gov't computers. Anyway, I thought I should get on and write something. I had to stay home from work today. Bar got diarrhea at school yesterday, and they told me to come get him. He was sick, it was just something he ate (namely, part of an air freshener.... he's at that age). Anyway, I took him to the doctor yesterday after picking him up just to get a note that he was fine. That was a fiasco! It took me an hour to get across post to get him to the doctor - there was a small accident that stopped traffic. I almost missed walkin hours at the doc. I got there just in time, but Bar was screaming because he had pooped himself on the way. I stood in line behind all the slow (physically and mentally) people to get him checked in, then went to change his diaper. He has a MONSTER diaper rash from the diarrhea. He was in so much pain - I felt horrible. We finally saw the doc who said it was nothing - just something he ate (yes, an air freshener...). The REALLY weird part was the doctor, though. I have already said that something is different now that my husband isn't here. I don't know if men have always been like this and I didn't notice, because my man was always with me.... OR now that I am always alone with my child, I am giving off the 'single mother' vibe. Men have all of a sudden been just gawking and openly hitting on me. I feel like I am in college again, but it's uncomfortable. As soon as the doc saw me, he lit up (I still had my skirt and heels on from work). He waved and said, "I'll be right in!" I thought that maybe he was just nice.... until........... he came in the room SINGING!! Like he was some R&B singer! Weird! Then he shook my hand and started asking questions like, "what do you do?" "who all lives in the home?" NOT related to my son's illness. I immediately told him that normally my husband lives in my home. He backed off and started talking about his wife. I thought 1) did you not see the massive ring on my finger??? it's not easy to miss. and 2) where is your ring if you are married? Usually men don't wear a ring either because they can't afford one or they are assholes trying to pick up women. He definitely could afford one. He thought that because he was a doctor, I would swoon... um... NOT so much! Even if I WAS single (which I'm very much not), been there, dated that, not impressed! Sorry to rant, it just bothers me when men see my ring and know I'm married and don't respect it - especially when they are married. I take those vows VERY seriously and wish others would, too. It makes me sick.

So.... back to the original statement, because of that, I was at home today with him. Daycare won't let him back until tomorrow. It's okay, though, I need a 'mental health' day. :) I just needed to get stuff done, which I did. I sanitized and steam mopped the floors, cleared the clutter of the house, did laundry, organized outside, weeded my flower garden, stained some furniture, etc. We went to walmart to get some pedialyte, sippy cups, and formula - I am trying to get him off the bottle. I also picked up some fresh cut flowers for my office. Ever since my husband sent me some and they were in there, I realized it smells great and makes me feels positive. Then, we came home, played outside, got a bath, had dinner, and now he is in bed while i'm watching american idol. Tonight they were singing metal songs. Slash from Guns N Roses was on. It seems a little unfair to me. Adam is already the front runner, and he has always been total Metal. You could have guessed who wouldn't do well - Kris and Danny - it's not their style. One of them will go home next week. I am now going to sweep up the gold fish on the floor (the cracker not the animal), take a shower, and go to bed. Good night!

-Lu

No comments:

Post a Comment