Sunday, May 31, 2009

more pics...










The top two are of bar at the park. I have started trying to take him to the park more often. We go at least twice a week after work so that I can run, then he can play. We swing and go down the slides.
The bottom two are of our new patio furniture. I was going to buy some for the back, but a friend of mine offered hers to me for free. SOLD! It is actually really nice. There are 4 swivel chairs and a square table, also a small table - she's giving me a lounger and the umbrella, too - not pictured above. The flowers in the middle of the table my loving husband sent to me.. :)
We went with a friend of mine to the stables today to see her horse. Bar didn't know what to think because he was so large. There was a mini pony there that he just LOVED!! I think we need to get him one. :)
My Michael is doing so well overseas, and I'm very proud of him. It's been great to be able to webcam with him. I have the best husband in the world.
-Lu

Last Day of May...

So today is May 31, the last day of May-where did the time go! Its amazing. Only 6 and a half more months till I am out of here and get to see my baby!
Anyway, to catch you up on things here. It has been very busy here. We had to pull a 24 hour shift last night due to a mission. Boy were we all hurting today. Gives me a great appreciation for Mothers that get up with their babies for a year-Linds you are great -Thank you so much!
I drank a lot of coffee and was good up until about 4 am and then it hit me.
Got to talk to the kids a little bit today which was very good and they are doing great-I am so proud of them.
Was able to have lots of webcam dates and chats with my beautiful wife which keeps me going-thanks so much.
Love the pictures that she posted on her last blogs-Randoms-they are great.
Its hard to believe that in 20 days I will been here 2 months already.
The temperature is continuing to soar everyday. I think I am sweating some much needed pounds off!
Been catching up on reading books and everything.
Sure do miss little things in the States that we dont have here-dont take things for granted!
I finished my 2nd week of college class-3 more weeks to go-I got a 100 on my paper this week-a pleasant surprise. Anyway, think that is it for now. Miss and love you all.....

Friday, May 29, 2009

Randoms...











I don't really have anything to say, so I thought I'd just post some pics......



Monday, May 25, 2009

Another hot, dusty day

Hi everyone-hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend. I appreciate everyone's emails to me on this day. I am proud to be a soldier and to serve our country-the least I can do.
Anyway, the temperature is really heating up-gets up to about 115 during the day and we haven't even hit summer yet! Going to be a hot one! I think I have sweated off about 5 pounds so far. We do get ice cream sandwiches and bars every once in a while so they taste really good.
I have just finished the first week of my class and submitted my first paper-think it is going to be a pretty easy class.
Because all of the sandstorms lately, a lot of flights for people taking leave have been cancelled. It sucks! hopefully the weather will cooperate and we can get these soldiers home for a little 2 week break.
IT has been so great being able to webcam with Linds-makes me feel that I am there and not missing anything.
Nothing else major to report. Until next time...

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Why do we bathe our children?









Look at these pictures. Bar took a bath this evening and not even 20 minutes later, he was playing in the mud. It was raining, and little Dennis the Menace was playing in the water coming off the roof. He even put his mouth on the ground and tried to drink it. :) He tried to eat the mud as well.... and of course he smiled the whole time. I don't even know why we bother...








Saturday, May 23, 2009

And we're off..........

Another weekend is here. This morning, Bar woke me up at about 6 am - which is sleeping in to me. We got up, gave him some medicine (he had a fever), and played for a little while. He went back to sleep at about 730. I took a small nap, too. I also got to talk to my baby on the pc. We got up at about 830 and had to get out of the house.

We went down the street where they were having a yard sale - I found a toddler bed for barrett for 25 bucks! It is actually a nice wood one. I was very happy. Then we went to the grocery store and loaded up on food for the next two weeks. I think 80 % of the food I bought was for bar - yougurt nutrigrain bars, cookies, lil entrees, veggies, fruit, rice cakes, crackers and cheese, everything he could ever want. :) Spoiled child....

Now we are just playing outside. I have a webcam date with my baby in a couple of hours, and bar should be taking a nap soon. I am going to make cookies for M. Then, we have to go to the library, send a package to Daddy, and then go to Hobby Lobby to find the batting/fabric for the headboard.

-Lu

Friday, May 22, 2009

22 May, Friday

First, I have to say again how fortunate I am to have such a wonderfully loving, sweet, smart, caring husband. He told me that he went off on some turd soldiers today - which I find hilarious! I can't stand most of today's soldiers, and he is REALLY funny when he gets assertive. I remember the days..... :)

This week went by quickly, which is GREAT! One week closer to seeing my baby again. Today was a pretty productive day at work. It is a holiday weekend and training holiday, and that means almost no one who works for the federal gov't actually goes to work - except me. :) I got a whole lot done, though, and even got props from a high up in the Division I am currently working on staffing. It was good. I still find it annoying that we are SOOO busy - and my boss is in my office like 4 times a day seeing how it's going, then he and the senior staffer take the day off - while I'm there working my butt off. Grrrr. YOu had better believe it will be in my performance appraisal when I go up for another raise in Sept!

I got off an hour early today for the holiday. I went and got Bar, then we came home and played outside. First, I gave him some tylenol and motrin - I think he had a fever. He is probably getting another ear infection. I stained another piece of furniture this evening while we were playing outside. This weekend, I am going to try to make the headboard, put up the canopy, and put up curtains. I'm getting there. Now, I am going to do some cleaning and watch 'Wife Swap'.... I love how crazy these ladies are. Haha. I have a webcam date with my hubby at 1030. Until next time....

-Lu

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

One month Down.....

So today is one month in country-only 7 more to go. Actually it is going by a lot faster than I had imagined it would-which is very good. I can't wait to get back to my family and friends and see and be with my beautiful wife again and resume life again!
So yesterday, lets see what I did-went and got a haircut, dropped off laundry and mailed a box off to Linds. My computer at work crashed-the hard drive had enough-so they took it to work on it so hopefully I will have it back today.
Before I got here, the office was totally in disarray and not communicating with each other, so that is keeping me busy-cleaning up the messes and putting out fires and trying to make them a team.
There is still hope that I will get to go on two weeks leave around Sep-Oct-that would be awesome-need everyone to pray to make sure that happens!
We were supposed to have an award ceremony today, but it got cancelled. The two parties don't like each other and don't want to be in the same room as each other, so we got more work to do to try and smooth things over.
Today, more work and will try to get over to the PX to buy some things I need. Well it is time to grab some chow. Talk toyou later.

Wednesday, 20 May

I don't write on here much lately. There are two reasons for that - 1) I'm always too tired and busy to do it, 2) I do the same thing virtually every day. Anyway, I will try to make up something halfway interesting.

Well, first off, I pretty much hate my dog. He is taking it the hardest that Daddy is gone right now, and he is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO annoying. He follows me around and barks at me like an abusive boyfriend. When I take him for walks, he pulls the whole way. He's been pooping in the hallway (and I step in it in the morning). He pretty much is just a pain in the butt. I know that I don't spend as much time with him as I used to, but there's only so much time in the day - and he is a dog.

Last weekend I planted flowers in pots for the house and my office. I am started to get the house somewhat organized. Work has been absolutely insane, but I still really like my job. I have basically been working about 10 hr days every day (some even from home in the evening). I would be working even more if I didn't have the baby.

Bar is doing really well. He is growing like a weed! I am starting to ween him from formula to whole milk - mixing the two and gradually putting more milk. He has never been able to drink milk (even breast milk) since he's been born, it's always been soy. This is going to be the test. He has been getting used to Daddy being gone and getting easier. He was difficult for a while - being really needy. He still throws a fit when I put him in bed and leave, but he's getting over it gradually. He thinks if I leave his site that I am not coming back. Well, that's about all. I need to go take the trash out, take a shower, and do some work. I get to talk to my hubby on the webcam tonight! We do it every night/morning for him. It's the highlight of my day! :)

-Lu

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Tuesday in Kirkuk

So today I got to go outside the wire again into downtown Kirkuk for an award ceremony. It was for 5 Iraqi policeman who successfully stopped and tackled and prevented a suicide bomber from attacking a Mosque. It was a neat experience. They were presented with Army Achievement Medals and each recieved $1500.

My office has been very busy processing End of Tour awards for everyone. We have to look at over 500 awards to make sure they are correct-that has made the time go by very fast.

I also started my college class today-Ethics-so that will keep me busy also-hopefully, I will finish my degree while I am here.

It is definitely getting hotter outside! The sun is kicking in.

I am pretty beat, will write more later....

Friday, May 15, 2009

Another year older.....


So yesterday I turned another year older-37-my how time flies when you are having fun! It was actually a pretty good day considering the situation! I got many cards and well wishes from people and it kept me motivated. I appreciate everyone's thoughts and prayers.


The days have been actually flying by pretty quickly-the busier and faster the better, because it means that much closer to me getting homes into the arms of my beautiful wife and to see my terrific children and family and friends-there is lots of paperwork to do for over 500 soldiers. Right now we are getting ready to look at awards. Each soldier will be getting a well deserved award and our job is to make sure that they are all correct-lots of reading to do!


Will get my 15 seconds of fame here shortly-the Armed Forces Network came to our Headquarters yesterday so that people could do shout outs to family and friends back home-will let you know when I know more information.


I watched the movie 17 again and almost am done the movie Australia. I actually got to sleep in today to about 7-it was really nice! Ah the little things that you miss! Anyway. I got to get ready for work. Miss and love you all....

Thursday, May 14, 2009

New stroller and shoes...
















First off, I have to say that I have the best husband in the world!

Today started with little man waking up at 0430 wanting to play. Unfortunately, I am not able to go to bed at 630 like him, so I was still tired. Finally he went back to sleep at 530 (my normal wake up time), and I got to sleep for about 45 more minutes since we had a doctor appt this morning. I got out of bed at 630, got dressed, got him ready, and we headed to the dr's office. He has chronic ear infections, and I am sick and tired of him being on antibiotics all the time. We got a referral to a pediatric ENT to discuss tubes in his ears. On the way to the doc, I forgot that the main road here is closed on post for PT - which is STUPID. I have never seen that before. It took me an hour to get to the dr's office - and I live ON POST! The stroller wheel broke off once I got there, so I had to carry a 22 lb child and 2 bags into the dr's office - which is a walk from the parking lot. Also, I'm in my skirt and heels for work. I was sweating by the time I got in there. I was the first one there, so I did get right in. However, I was sweating like I was in menopause. Bar got to be naked - lucky kid.

Since the stroller was broken, and there is no way I'm carrying that big angel around, we stopped after work and got a new stroller. I thought about getting a double tandum stroller - so that when and if we have another child, it fits both children. However, I decided against it for now and figured I could get it later if need be. The one I decided upon, I really like. It is very light, compact, and easy to manuver. It is kindof a mix between a big stroller and an umbrella stroller. See the pics. It is still sturdy enough to jog with, though. It's called a Lite Sport. I also got a couple pairs of shoes for lil dude at the store. His daycare told me today that he needs to wear closed toe shoes (per state regs) when he starts walking, which will be any day. He is holding onto things and walking now, which is great. I went ahead and grabbed some cute shoes - see the pics. He got a booster seat as well today. He doesn't really like sitting in the high chair any more to eat. He is getting big and feel restricted. I got him a little booster so that he can sit with mom mom and eat. Lastly, I got him a little toy for being such a good boy today. They are plastic shapes that snap and unsnap with eachother. They can be individual or make a long shape worm. They came in a plastic tub so that he can practice putting them in and pulling them out. I've read it's a good skill to teach at this age.
Tonight, I got to talk to my man again on the webcam. It is great! It gets a little frustrating when he gets kicked off or the connection is bad, but we are so fortunate to be able to have that! I get to take him around the house, show him things, show him bar sleeping - it's almost like he's here.
-Lu

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Wednesday May 13 in Kirkuk

So I think I have finally settled into a routine here. Get up around 5 and do a webcam date with my beautiful, goregeous wife for about an hour-this is awesome and I absolutely love it-helps keep me connected on what is going on there. Then I shave and do personal hygiene. Then it is PT time-today we did muscle failure-lots of variations of pushups and situps-I will be hurting later! -I am getting older and feeling it :) Then it is time to shower and grab some breakfast. Then it is time to go to work about 815 or so. I usually work until about 9. The days actually fly by pretty quickly. Then it is time to come back to my room to relax-read, watch movies, etc. Then it is bedtime and then wake up and do it all over again.
I just want to say again how proud of I am of my wife and how strong she is and can't wait to see her and my family again. Until next time.....

Monday, May 11, 2009

Monday 11 May







Well, yesterday was my first OFFICIAL Mother's Day. It was great except that my husband wasn't here to enjoy it with me. Bar and I went to the beach (at the lake). It was a beautiful day. He was a little cranky, but he really like seeing that water. He was motioning that he was amazed at how big it was.... I pretty much can read my kid's mind. The ladies at daycare helped him make a card for me - it was sweet. We also made some brownies.

Today at work was a huge job fair - it was actually a lot of fun. I like to get away from the office and see people. I also got off 1 1/2 hours early, which was great. I went and got Bar, then we went home to take the dog out and play outside. He went to bed about 630. I mopped the floors, got packed for tomorrow, and got in bed. I got to have a webcam date with my hubby tonight! It was great to see him. We have it set up so that I can see him at night for me and morning for him (8 hr difference). I love it! Anyway, I'm beat - gotta go to bed. G'night!

-Lu

Outside the wire

So today I got to go outside the wire-out into the city of Kirkuk. It was a very neat experience. We had to go down to the local police station to present some awards to some Iraquis. I'm actually glad I got the chance to go.

It was also a neat experience in that two of our soldiers reenlisted.
Before I knew it the morning had flown by. Then we came back to the FOB and grabbed some lunch and then I went to the office to catch up on some work.
Well, sorry so short-I am beat! Going to get some sleep and am looking forward to the webcam date with my beautiful wife.......

Sunday, May 10, 2009

Internet in Iraq (yeah!!!!)

Sorry it has been so long-just got my internet hooked up. It is slow, but it is great none the less. Guess I got a lot of catching up to do!
To try and catch up:
About 60 of us flew from Kuwait to Kirkuk, Iraq. It was about a 2 hour flight. We were in all our gear and in the smallest, most uncomfortable air force plane imaginable. It felt like eternity and that we were in a big sauna. Anyway, we landed and about 4 people from my office were there to meet me and help me with my bags. We landed about 6 at night. That was the other thing-we had to do a combat landing-like a roller coaster ride and you know me-not a big fan of roller coasters!
Anyway, I have my own room which is very nice-bed, air conditioner.
I have an office of 7 soldiers-so far they seem alright, but there is some work that we need to work on. We work 7 days a week usually from about 8 to 8. There is actually lots to do-which makes the time go by faster, which is very nice-counting down to going home!
The food is actually pretty good and I have also been drinking lots of water! It is not quite as hot as I thought it was going to be-about 90 or so-but I guess we haven't reached summer yet.
We do physical training monday through friday at 630-running etc
They have luxuries here-but this place is huge. FOB Warrior is divided into 2 sides-Lightside and Darkside. Most of the stores, etc are on the lightside. I live on the Darkside. It is either about a 3 mile walk or wait anywhere up to an hour for the shuttle bus. So I have been going over there 1 or 2 a week-guess I am saving up money!
Finally got internet hooked up last night and was able to webcam with my baby-it was awesome. Anyway, I gotta go-time for breakfast and to head to work. Will try to write more later. Miss and love everyone....

Thursday, May 7, 2009

This week...







This week has been a dang circus. A whole Division is moving down here from Colorado and most of their civilians are not coming with them. Therefore, we are preparing to replace them. This is not a big deal, except every Colonel in the US wants to call and talk about it (maybe a bit of an exaggeration). The DIV is not very organized, but our office is, thank God. Yesterday was "meeting day" pretty much. I went from a meeting about the DIV moving down here with a COL to a meeting about the high visibility job fair we have Mon and Tues, then another meeting with a different COL about the DIV, then an interoffice meeting, and so on. Today there was yet another meeting - this time more on labor/MER issues within a Bde S1 shop - met with the OIC. Drama.... gotta love it.... (n't). To add to ALL of this craziness at work, Barrett is unfortunately sick this week. Monday he got diarrhea at daycare - think I mentioned that in a previous post. I left work to get him, took him to the doctor, and took Tues off with him. He seemed fine, though. I went back to work yesterday, then last night at 2 am, he wakes up with a 103.2 fever. I debated on taking him to the hospital but settled on giving him motrin and tylenol and watching him. He finally went back to sleep and slept until 730. I delayed going into work to see how he felt when he awoke. He was fine, no more fever. I gave him another dose of motrin and took him to daycare. I didn't tell them about the fever but said he didn't seem 'well'. I called around 2 pm and asked them to take him temperature. It was 101.5, so I left work to get him, and again went to the doc. They said he has (another) ear infection and possible sinus infection - got antibiotic and decongestant. This is about his 5-6 ear infection in his short 11 months. I believe it is time to consider tubes in the ears. Anyway, he will be going back to school tomorrow, and me to work. Thank God (not that I don't want to hang out with him), but there is just so much going on! That is my circus here.






Oh, Barrett and I sent out mother's day cards - to grandmas, aunt bill, and one for the ladies at daycare. We were going to bake cookies for the daycare ladies, but I don't have eggs (I don't really eat them). We will make some this weekend and give them on Monday. We will at least give them the card tomorrow. I love being a working mom, having my own career and money, but I also LOVE being domestic and actually baking cookies and cupcakes. It is funny to me when stay at home moms think they do so much better - but most of them still do the 'store bought cookie' thing, and that's fine, but I enjoy having it all. I feel blessed that I'm able to have my own identity and career while still having my family be the most important thing to me.

I have to end this post by bragging that I have the most adorable, perfect, wonderful son. Sometimes I look at him and can't get over how absolutely beautiful he is! He has he most perfect features AND the best personality. He is a HUGE flirt - loves ladies. He smiles and buries his face in my chest like he's shy. He acts shy well, like his mommy. :) I think I'm in trouble..... :) By the way, lil man and I went to the zoo last Sunday. That's what those pictures are...

Well, it's time for Hell's Kitchen. Debbie just got kicked off of survivor - I hate survivor, just tune in to see who goes home for my husband's sake. I don't understand why anyone would EVER volunteer to sleep outside like that - yuck. Hell's Kitchen is awesome. Oh, and I just ate fettucini alfredo and a caesar salad that I made myself - just because I know you worry about me, M. :)

-Lu

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

It's been a while

I have been neglecting our blog - partially because I have been busy, the other part because my man told me he can't read it right now anyway. His pc's internet isn't up, and we can't get to it on gov't computers. Anyway, I thought I should get on and write something. I had to stay home from work today. Bar got diarrhea at school yesterday, and they told me to come get him. He was sick, it was just something he ate (namely, part of an air freshener.... he's at that age). Anyway, I took him to the doctor yesterday after picking him up just to get a note that he was fine. That was a fiasco! It took me an hour to get across post to get him to the doctor - there was a small accident that stopped traffic. I almost missed walkin hours at the doc. I got there just in time, but Bar was screaming because he had pooped himself on the way. I stood in line behind all the slow (physically and mentally) people to get him checked in, then went to change his diaper. He has a MONSTER diaper rash from the diarrhea. He was in so much pain - I felt horrible. We finally saw the doc who said it was nothing - just something he ate (yes, an air freshener...). The REALLY weird part was the doctor, though. I have already said that something is different now that my husband isn't here. I don't know if men have always been like this and I didn't notice, because my man was always with me.... OR now that I am always alone with my child, I am giving off the 'single mother' vibe. Men have all of a sudden been just gawking and openly hitting on me. I feel like I am in college again, but it's uncomfortable. As soon as the doc saw me, he lit up (I still had my skirt and heels on from work). He waved and said, "I'll be right in!" I thought that maybe he was just nice.... until........... he came in the room SINGING!! Like he was some R&B singer! Weird! Then he shook my hand and started asking questions like, "what do you do?" "who all lives in the home?" NOT related to my son's illness. I immediately told him that normally my husband lives in my home. He backed off and started talking about his wife. I thought 1) did you not see the massive ring on my finger??? it's not easy to miss. and 2) where is your ring if you are married? Usually men don't wear a ring either because they can't afford one or they are assholes trying to pick up women. He definitely could afford one. He thought that because he was a doctor, I would swoon... um... NOT so much! Even if I WAS single (which I'm very much not), been there, dated that, not impressed! Sorry to rant, it just bothers me when men see my ring and know I'm married and don't respect it - especially when they are married. I take those vows VERY seriously and wish others would, too. It makes me sick.

So.... back to the original statement, because of that, I was at home today with him. Daycare won't let him back until tomorrow. It's okay, though, I need a 'mental health' day. :) I just needed to get stuff done, which I did. I sanitized and steam mopped the floors, cleared the clutter of the house, did laundry, organized outside, weeded my flower garden, stained some furniture, etc. We went to walmart to get some pedialyte, sippy cups, and formula - I am trying to get him off the bottle. I also picked up some fresh cut flowers for my office. Ever since my husband sent me some and they were in there, I realized it smells great and makes me feels positive. Then, we came home, played outside, got a bath, had dinner, and now he is in bed while i'm watching american idol. Tonight they were singing metal songs. Slash from Guns N Roses was on. It seems a little unfair to me. Adam is already the front runner, and he has always been total Metal. You could have guessed who wouldn't do well - Kris and Danny - it's not their style. One of them will go home next week. I am now going to sweep up the gold fish on the floor (the cracker not the animal), take a shower, and go to bed. Good night!

-Lu