Okay, let's be honest. First of all, it wasn't Mr. Obama's decision. He is simply the President - he has PLENTY of advisors to do the real thinking for him. Never having spent one day in the military, and being a quite intelligent man, he would never make a decision of that magnitude that affects so many people on his own (or at all).
Besides that fact .... what if we DIDN'T send those people back overseas. I work for the Army, my husband is in the Army. We would both still have our jobs, fortunately, because of the positions that we are in. HOWEVER, there are individuals who hired into civil service (thousands of them) JUST to support the 'war' - GWOT positions. All those people who lose their jobs, as would thousands of military troops who are no longer needed if we are not in a war time situation. I'm not saying whether this is right or wrong. I am all about a strong economy, not one where we have unemployment rates in the double digits. If we did end the war tomorrow, unemployment would skyrocket to the point that we wouldn't be able to pay anyone. It becomes more economical to just continue a worthless war. Mind you some military troops do have operations that they are running, but a lot of troops spend hours sitting around - or spending hours getting in trouble or thinking too much about home, becoming depressed, etc. I got it, you people who are bashing Mr. Obama for his ultimate decision - it's not our fight. However, would it be better to have unemployment rates skyrocket and redo vietnam where we have those individuals out on the street and becoming homeless? Let me tell you something, I worked for a non-profit org that served the homeless, and I saw a lot of them - there are a TON that are veterans and are so damaged mentally and physically that they cannot work. Yes, that is what civil service was created for... however, now I hire for them. I can also tell you that just on this one installation, I have 200 people apply for EVERY job. There simply are not jobs for any more veterans. Once again, I'm not taking a side - I see both ways.... but maybe you should think about the reverse before you critisize. Or... maybe you should at least learn something about what you are talking about.
Monday, November 30, 2009
Wednesday, November 25, 2009
Happy Thanksgiving and Almost Home!
First, let me wish everyone Happy Thanksgiving-hope you have a good day and good meal. The DFAC here is putting on a good meal.
Second, I have about 10 more nights here and then time to head home!!!! Cant wait. Time is flying by. It will be so great to be home!!!!!!!!!!
We will have about 15 days of reintegration training and then I am taking 30 days of leave-to rest, spend time with family and have a good time-looking forward to the cruise.
I am finishing up my class-just in time-it ends on Tuesday. I should get an A. Then I am going to take a break and start classes again in Feb.
Kid Rock is supposed to be coming here to play Dec 2-we will see-will be pretty cool
We have packed up all our supplies and our replacements are here-we are training them up-so it is time to go home. See you all soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Second, I have about 10 more nights here and then time to head home!!!! Cant wait. Time is flying by. It will be so great to be home!!!!!!!!!!
We will have about 15 days of reintegration training and then I am taking 30 days of leave-to rest, spend time with family and have a good time-looking forward to the cruise.
I am finishing up my class-just in time-it ends on Tuesday. I should get an A. Then I am going to take a break and start classes again in Feb.
Kid Rock is supposed to be coming here to play Dec 2-we will see-will be pretty cool
We have packed up all our supplies and our replacements are here-we are training them up-so it is time to go home. See you all soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thursday, November 19, 2009
nov 19
Well, I wrote this long post about how great my day was, but then it disappeared! Ha! Oh well, I am too tired to retype it. Now I remember why I dont post on here much. Oh well... g'night.
-Lu
-Lu
Saturday, November 14, 2009
October




Wow, that month really did fly by... and the first part of this one has, too - which I'm quite happy about. We went to the pumpkin patch last month - bar loved it and picked out a guord. He thought it was a duck and quacked at it for days. Ha. We also went trick or treating (see imagine above). Bar was a lion, my mom was a witch, and henri was superman. Unfortunately, he only lasted 5 minutes when he tried to bite some kid, so he went back inside. Bar had SUCH a great time. He didn't understand it, but he enjoyed that strangers were giving him things. He is just the sweetest, cutest little boy! I'm very pleased with how he's turned out. He shows sympathy already, he knows right from wrong, he does what he is supposed to. I can ask him where his eyes, nose, hands, feet, etc are, and he will show me. He is just SO good. I couldn't ask for a better son.
My dad is coming down for Thanksgiving - the mom is already here. That will be interesting. It will be great for Bar - it will be a spoiling competition, I'm sure.
I can't wait to see my awesome husband again. he's so good to me. I got flowers again the other day. I love how the women at work get jealous. They can just be mad, he's all mine! :)
Okay, that's about all, I'm exhausted. G'night!
-Lu
Wednesday, November 11, 2009
Time flies
Holy Cow! Its Novemeber 11th-
Happy Veterans Day
Apologize for not writing in so long-have been very busy!
Lets see
Doing well in college class-have a 98!
Got a chance to go outside the FOB to the eternal flame-image attached-it was awesome! We went out there to film a commercial spot for the Army/Navy Game on Dec 12 with the Iraqi Police-I might get my 15 seconds of fame!-have to watch the game to see
Got a coin from the Division Command Sergeant Major yesterday-was pretty neat-made me feel good.
Possibility that we might be coming home a little bit earlier-will keep you posted. Anxious to come home-got anywhere between 20-30 days to go!
Was terrible what happened at Ft Hood. Thoughts and prayers are with everyone there. So glad Linds and Barrett are safe.
I'm sure there is more-but getting tired. See you all soon!!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



